Department of Psychology

Student presents at poster session

Undergraduate Study

The Department of Psychology's Courses & Honors Program offer study in clinical, social, and experimental psychology; personality; development; and behavioral neuroscience. Students may design programs that approach psychology as a social science, a natural science, or a combination of both. See more about

Graduate Study

Faculty Experts’ Corner: Anthony Ahrens

Anthony Ahrens, professor of psychology, talks about the importance of gratitude, particularly during difficult times. He offers strategies and exercises to help us all become more grateful.

Quick Links


People wearing masks

In the Community ·

Five Videos to Watch: Faculty Experts’ Corner

Read More

Headshot of Prof. Lissa Ramespaul

In the Community ·

Professor Working with Homeless on Pandemic Front Lines

Read More


Linda Amarante won the 2020 Outstanding Scholarship at the Graduate Level Award.

Irena Volkov (BA '19) received a Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation honoring outstanding graduate students in science and technology.

Arthur Shapiro won the Single Volume Reference/Science award from the American Publishers Awards for The Oxford Compendium of Visual Illusions by Arthur G. Shapiro and Dejan Todorovic.

Recent Grants

Brian Yates (psychology) received $64,735 to evaluate the Emergency Assistance Programs (EAP) of Freedom House, which aids human rights defenders, survivors of religious persecution, and political prisoners. A special focus of Yates's evaluation is EAP’s Dignity for All: LGBTI (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Intersex) Assistance Program. May 2021