You are here: Cabinet

American University's Senior Officers

The president's cabinet is composed of the senior university administrators who serve as the university's officers and who report directly to the president. They work closely together with the president, trustees, and academic leadership to provide advice, develop and implement university-wide initiatives, and oversee operation of the university.

The cabinet meets with the president on a weekly basis and attends the Board of Trustees meetings. Each cabinet member serves as a resource person to the Board of Trustees committees. The cabinet is composed of eight members, not including the president. The cabinet, academic deans, athletics director, librarian, and others make up the president's council.

AU President Sylvia Burwell

Sylvia Burwell President

Sylvia's Bio

Mary L. Clark


MARY's Bio

Fanta Aw

Fanta Aw Vice President, Campus Life & Inclusive Excellence

Fanta's Bio

Traevena Byrd

Traevena Byrd General Counsel

Traevena's Bio

Terry Flannery

Teresa Flannery Vice President, Communication

Terry's Bio

Seth Grossman

Seth Grossman Chief of Staff

Seth's Bio

Doug Kudravetz

Doug Kudravetz Chief Financial Officer, Vice President and Treasurer

Doug's Bio

Courtney Surls

Courtney SurlsVice President, Development and Alumni Relations

Courtney's Bio

Dave Swartz

David Swartz Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Dave's Bio

David Taylor

David Taylor Secretary, Board of Trustees

David's Bio