Students film on a tv set

Visions Awards 2019 - Winners

Celebrating its 40th year, the School of Communication's Visions Awards celebrates outstanding visual student work from both graduates and undergraduates. Highlighting the best in documentary, fiction, digital and new media, screenwriting and photography, the 2019 Visions Awards took place on May 8, 2019 at 8 PM in the Malsi Doyle and Michael Forman Theater. Congradulations to all the winners!


Graduate Screenplay

DOC Screenplay
Winner: Beth Ebisch - Protecting Giants 
Emily Crawford - Game Flow
Lawrence Green - The Mayor of Ward 8
Fiction Feature Screenplay
Winner: Kat A. Cooper - Follow or Die
Sam Felix Aung - The Queen Without A Throne 
Laura Decelles - Maria, In Lights 
Fiction Short Screenplay
Winner: Zan Gillies - Last Strike 
Kat A. Cooper - At Death's Door
Laura Decelles - Topolina 
Jessica Marcy - Unaccompanied 

Graduate Video

Graduate Doc
Kat A. Cooper - Fear Itself
Winner: Quame Hamlin - Becoming Donna Slash
Sunshine Yang - 2018 Montgomery College NASA Swarmathon
Lizbeth Nthanze Kariuki - Bravery With Grace
Eman Alghamdi - A Piece of Paper
Graduate Fiction Video
Quame Hamlin - A Mother's Love
Winner: Shirin Saghaie - Katie
Quame Hamlin - Family Business

Graduate Thesis

Fiction Thesis
Winner: Zan Gillies - Last Strike 
Caroline Chadbourne - Grace Under Pressure 
DOC Thesis 
Kent Wagner - Borneo's Vanishing Tribes 
Winner: Mike Kuba - The Bridge
Emily Crawford - Game Flow 

Undegraduate Screenplay

Feature Screenplay
Michael Tauber - Goodbye Mr. Moon
Winner: Arnetia Walker Francis - The Other Side of The Journey
Undergraduate Documentary Screenplay
Winner: Cecilia Wardani - Momoye
Amanda Luthy - Edelweiss
Short Fiction Screenplay
Taylor Mickal - 3 Miles
Winner: Jacob Montes - Glow
Allison Kraus - Ride Request

Undegraduate Video

Undergraduate DOC
Winner: Cassidy Nelson - Life in a DC Park
Tim McPhillips - Still Here
Jungbin Yoon - In the End
Fernando Rocha & Fernanda Perez - El Maestro
Undergraduate Fiction Video
Winner: Danielle De Vito - Něco Si Přej
Melany Rochester & Sofia Abate - Petra
Allison Kraus - Capture


Winner: Jacob Montes - Syzygy
Winner: Matt Francisco - Matt Francisco Commercial Photography 
Daisy Li - Four Seasons 
Single Image
Winner (Tied 1st): Matt Francisco - At Midnight 
Winner (Tied 1st): Kyle Mendlesohn - This Poem Is Not Meant To Be Read Aloud 
Fine Art Essay
Winner: Izzy Capodanno - Untitled 
Molly Page - Dissociation 
Jay Strojnowski - Untitled 
Matt Francisco - Prism 
Kyle Mendelsohn - Fragments 
Documentary Essay
Winner: Kitty Kouwenhoven - Across Town
Photo Essay
Allie Ngo - Lovers & Daughters 
Winner: Xianqui (Kim) Liang - Cuba


Emma Galasso - Ashes To Go
Winner: Emma Galasso - Wilson High School Name Change
Amelia Tyson - Water: Keep It Flowing
Winner: Dhara Brown in COMM-568 - Anacostia Revealed
Music Video
Beth Cassidy & Éowyn Fain - nah. | Ur So Mad!
Quame Hamlin - Broken Tape Deck
Winner: Laura Snyder - Jacqueline Suite
New Media
Elaine Wijaya Oey - Blow: Logo Animation
Jack Tollman - District Docs Logo Animation
Winner (Animation): Lesia Olesnyckyj - Principles of Graphic Design: Composition
Winner (Editing): Laura Decelles - Autobiographical Mashup

Elizabeth Carpio & Maria Cantisano - Travesia
Emily Eldridge Hall - people who look like me
Winner (Website): Juana Capelluto - IKEA-Assemble: Mobile App
Alexis Arnold - The School Shootings That Weren’t
Juana Capelluto - Chomper Chums: Mobile App
Winner (Webseries): Caecilia Wardani - I Think I'm In Love With pt.1
Winner (Digital Imaging): Nora Marris - True Crime Animals
Winner (Motion Graphics): Alexis Arnold - Brands in Motion: The Blackprint
Named Award Winners
WILL Interactive: Zan Gillies - Last Strike
SONY: Mike Kuba - The Bridge
IMG New Media: Juana Capelluto - IKEA-Assemble: Mobile App
Ron Sutton Visual Literacy: Lauren Mitchell, Lia Patentas, Julia Morgan
WIFV Craft Editing: Laura Decelles - Autobiographical Mashup
WIFV Craft Audio: Allison Krause - Capture
WIFV Craft Cinematography: Melany Rochester & Sofia Abate - Petra
WIFV Diversity & Inclusion: Fernando Rocha & Fernanda Perez - El Maestro

2018 Winners

WIFV Craft Award: Cinematography
Matt Cipollone - Freelancers
WIFV Craft Award: Audio
Fernando Rocha - An American University
WIFV Craft Award: Editing
Jean-Michel Christopher Fischre - Lucidity Visions of Truth
Environmental Production
Students in COMM-568 - Healing Baltimore
CMSI Social Justice Award
Matt Cipollone - Signs
Ron Sutton Visual Literacy Award
Grace Rodgers
Stephanie Mirah
Abigail Nix
Undergraduate Documentary
Fernando Rocha - An American University
Undergraduate Fiction
Emily Hall - Rozalie
Screenplay: Documentary
Elizabeth Herzfeldt-Kamprath - New Breath of the Wilderness
Screenplay: Teleplay
Becky Prosky - Rumspringa
Screenplay: Short Fiction Undergraduate
Svetlana Archvadze - In Need of a Friend
Screenplay: Short Fiction Graduate
Quame Hamlin - A Mother's Love
Screenplay: Feature
Jolene Carter - Collision
Photography: Single Image
Nicola Etzion "Luke"
Photography: Portfolio
Delfina Barbiero
Photography: Experimental/Installation
Emma Shetter - Emma Blaire
Hannah Solus - Transitions
Photography: Series
Emma Shetter - Underwater Series
John Bowden Scholarship
Jordan McCormack
Diversity & Inclusion Award
Fernando Rocha - An American University
Hannah Solous - Transitions
Pulitzer Prize Fellowship
Kristian Hernandez
Trevor Hembling - About Me
Anil Cole-Jon - Experience The Spirit of Rescue!
Commercial or PSA
Madison Long - Reducing Water Use
Video Mashup
Haley Margaret Sheehan - The Forgotten American Patriot
Motion Graphics Reel
Madison Long - Demo
Web Series
Kris Higgins - Footnotes
Best in New Media Award
Kris Higgins - Footnotes
Graduate Fiction
Eric Ruiz - 45 Willow Drive
Graduate Documentary
Seba Alluqmani - Alkaif
Sony Award for Grad Thesis
Shayla Racquel - Riverment