Patricia Aufderheide University Professor SOC - School of Communication

Patricia Aufderheide is University Professor of Communication Studies in the School of Communication at American University in Washington, D.C. She founded the School's Center for Media & Social Impac

  paufder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2069

Randall Blair Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Randall Blair is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He is a professional filmmaker who teaches courses in producing, directing, script writing and film production. He has created award-winn

  rblair@american.edu

  (202) 885-2044

Kyle Brannon Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

For over a decade Kyle “Kylos” Brannon has performed as a VJ, or live video artist, at clubs, crafting live video mash ups for DJs including Moby, MSTRKRFT, Nadastrom, Jesse Tittsworth and Will Eastma

  kbrannon@american.edu

  (202) 885-2162

John Douglass Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

John Douglass is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He has been at American for more than 30 years and through most of this time has served as director of the film and media arts division.

  John.Stephen.Douglass@american.edu

  (202) 885-2045

Larry Engel Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

With nearly 40 years of teaching and filmmaking, and 250 projects, his documentaries appear on PBS, the Discovery Channels, and National Geographic, among many other outlets. Awards include a Daytime

  larry.engel@american.edu

  (202) 885-2688

William Gentile Journalist in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Bill Gentile is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He is an independent journalist and documentary filmmaker at American University, where he brings 30 years of field experience and profess

  gentile@american.edu

  (202) 885-2663

Duncan Hill Adjunct Instructor

Duncan Madaris Hill is a photographer and filmmaker based in Washington, DC. Originally from High Point, North Carolina, Hill received his MFA in Photographic & Electronic Media from the Maryland Inst

  duncanh@american.edu

Bagus Himawan Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Bagus Himawan is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. From New York’s high fashion runways, to a contributor for editorial magazines such as the Atlantic, Washingtonian, DC Modern Luxury, and

  iwan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2152

Laura Hinson Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Laura Waters Hinson is an award-winning filmmaker and Assistant Professor in the Film and Media Arts Division of the School of Communication. Laura serves as the division’s social impact coordinator a

  hinson@american.edu

Leena Jayaswal Professor SOC - School of Communication

Leena Jayaswal is a documentary filmmaker, award-winning photographer and Professor in the School of Communication at American University in Washington DC, where she is the director of the new BA in P

  ljayasw@american.edu

  (202) 885-2662

Peter Kimball Adjunct Instructor

Peter Kimball is an award-winning writer, filmmaker, and scholar. As a director, his short films have played at festivals around the world and won such awards as Best-of-Fest at the Rochester Internat

  pkimball@american.edu

Kimberly Llerena Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Kim Llerena is a photographic artist based in Washington, D.C. She holds an MFA in Photographic & Electronic Media from the Maryland Institute College of Art and a BA in Journalism from New York Unive

  llerena@american.edu

  (202) 885-2073

Brigid Maher Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Brigid Maher is the Director of the Film and Media Arts Division and a tenured, associate professor in the School of Communication. She is the Director of the Community Voice Project and Senior Fellow

  bmaher@american.edu

  (202) 885-2664

Asmara Marek Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Asmara Marek is a Professorial Lecturer in Film and Media Arts. She is also a writer, director, and producer of short and feature length fiction film. Her artistic goal is to increase empathy in socie

  asmara@american.edu

Sarah Menke-Fish Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Sarah Menke-Fish is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. She is a master teacher in the School of Communication. She serves as associate director for the Center for Environmental Filmmaking,

  smenke@american.edu

  (202) 885-2098

Claudia Myers Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Claudia Myers is a full-time professor in the Film & Media Arts Division. Claudia recently wrote and directed her third feature, "Shadow Girl," starring Olivia Thirlby, Alan Ritchson and Megan Fox. Th

  myers.claudia@american.edu

  (202) 885-2152

Dara Padwo-Audick Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Dara is a seasoned media professional with over twenty-five years of experience across a variety of genres in the media landscape. Her genuine passion for telling impactful stories has taken her aroun

  padwoaud@american.edu

Kristian Perry Adjunct Instructor

I am a writer, animator, video editor and director with over 10 years of experience making award winning media. My work has been featured in the Smithsonian Institution, the Birthplace of Country Musi

  kperry@american.edu

Andrew Phelps Professor SOC - Game Lab

Phelps is a Professor in the Film & Media Arts division of the School of Communication at American University, and the Director of the AU Game Lab, a multidisciplinary effort that engages faculty, sta

  phelps@american.edu

Krzysztof Pietroszek Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Dr. Pietroszek is an Assistant Professor in the Film and Media Arts Division of the School of Communication at American University in Washington, DC. He is also the Founding Director of Immersive Desi

  pietrosz@american.edu

Shalom Rosenberg Adjunct Instructor

Shalom Rosenberg (Pronouns: He/Him/His) is an adjunct instructor in Film & Media Arts in the School of Communication. He is also currently a PhD Candidate in Comparative Literature (with a focus in Fi

  shalomr@american.edu

Adele Schmidt Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Adele Schmidt is an adjunct professorial lecturer of the Film and Media Arts Division. She is a film & video producer, director and editor who has won numerous awards in both documentary and fiction f

  adele.schmidt@american.edu

Alexandra Silverthorne Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Alexandra Silverthorne is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. She uses the camera as a means to understand and explore spatial environments and encounters. As projects evolve, her photographs

  silverth@american.edu

Maggie Burnette Stogner Professor SOC - School of Communication

Maggie Burnette Stogner is the Executive Director of the Center for Environmental Filmmaking (www.environmentalfilm.org) and a professor of Film and Media Arts. She brings over 30 years of filmmaking

  stogner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2160

Dave Taschler Adjunct Instructor

Dave Taschler is an adjunct professor of Film and Media Arts. After graduating from the Ringling School of Art and Design in 1987, he started working for CBN and the Family Channel in Virginia Beach i

  taschler@american.edu

John Weiskopf Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

John Weiskopf received an MFA in Film Production from UCLA where he was later on UCLA’s extension faculty. He produced a documentary on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome that aired on National PBS, and a second

  weiskopf@american.edu

Russell Williams Distinguished Artist in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Russell Williams is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He joined SOC after an illustrious career in Hollywood, where he won two Academy Awards for his sound work on Glory and Dances with Wo

  rwill@american.edu

  (202) 885-2115