Patricia Aufderheide University Professor SOC - School of Communication

Patricia Aufderheide is University Professor of Communication Studies in the School of Communication at American University in Washington, D.C. She founded the School's Center for Media & Social Impac

  paufder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2069

Randall Blair Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Randall Blair is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He is a professional filmmaker who teaches courses in producing, directing, script writing and film production. He has created award-winn

  rblair@american.edu

  (202) 885-2044

Kyle Brannon Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

For over a decade Kyle “Kylos” Brannon has performed as a VJ, or live video artist, at clubs, crafting live video mash ups for DJs including Moby, MSTRKRFT, Nadastrom, Jesse Tittsworth and Will Eastma

  kbrannon@american.edu

  (202) 885-2162

John Douglass Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

John Douglass is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He has been at American for more than 30 years and through most of this time has served as director of the film and media arts division.

  John.Stephen.Douglass@american.edu

  (202) 885-2045

Larry Engel Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

With nearly 40 years of teaching and filmmaking, and 250 projects, his documentaries appear on PBS, the Discovery Channels, and National Geographic, among many other outlets. Awards include a Daytime

  engel@american.edu

  (202) 885-2688

William Gentile Journalist in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Bill Gentile is an independent, national Emmy Award-winning journalist and documentary filmmaker teaching at American University (AU) in Washington, DC. His career spans four decades, five continents

  gentile@american.edu

  (202) 885-2663

Laura Hinson Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Laura Waters Hinson is an award-winning filmmaker and Assistant Professor in the Film and Media Arts Division of the School of Communication. Laura serves as the division’s social impact coordinator a

  hinson@american.edu

Leena Jayaswal Professor SOC - School of Communication

Leena Jayaswal is a documentary filmmaker, award-winning photographer and Professor in the School of Communication at American University in Washington DC, where she is the director of the new BA in P

  ljayasw@american.edu

  (202) 885-2662

Kimberly Llerena Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Kim Llerena is a photographic artist based in Washington, D.C. She holds an MFA in Photographic & Electronic Media from the Maryland Institute College of Art and a BA in Journalism from New York Unive

  llerena@american.edu

  (202) 885-2073

Brigid Maher Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Brigid Maher is the Director of the Film and Media Arts Division and a tenured, associate professor in the School of Communication. She is the Director of the Community Voice Project and Senior Fellow

  bmaher@american.edu

  (202) 885-2664

Sarah Menke-Fish Assistant Professor and Assistant Dean of Experiential Learning SOC - School of Communication

Sarah Menke-Fish is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. She serves as Assistant Dean of Experiential Learning and Associate Director for the Center for Environmental Filmmaking. Menke-Fish l

  smenke@american.edu

  (202) 885-2098

Claudia Myers Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Claudia Myers was named one of "10 Filmmakers to Watch" by Independent Magazine in 2015. Most recently Claudia wrote and directed ABOVE THE SHADOWS, a supernatural drama starring Olivia Thirlby, Alan

  myers.claudia@american.edu

  (202) 885-2152

Andrew Phelps Professor SOC - Game Lab

Phelps is a Professor in the Film & Media Arts division of the School of Communication at American University, and the Director of the AU Game Lab, a multidisciplinary effort that engages faculty, sta

  phelps@american.edu

Krzysztof Pietroszek Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Dr. Pietroszek is a tenure-track professor in the Film and Media Arts Division of the School of Communication. He is the Founding Director of the Institute for Immersive Designs, Experiences, Applica

  pietrosz@american.edu

Maggie Burnette Stogner Professor SOC - School of Communication

Maggie Burnette Stogner is the Executive Director of the Center for Environmental Filmmaking (www.environmentalfilm.org) and a professor of Film and Media Arts. She brings over 30 years of filmmaking

  stogner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2160

Russell Williams Distinguished Artist in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Russell Williams is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He joined SOC after an illustrious career in Hollywood, where he won two Academy Awards for his sound work on Glory and Dances with Wo

  rwill@american.edu

  (202) 885-2115