About Us

Our caring, experienced team is here to help you. We prioritize finding highly qualified staff that represent the wide diversity of our student body, and work with all of our students to find providers with whom they can be comfortable.

The Well-Being Center houses mental health professionals, skilled clinical trainees, advocates, and peer health educators.  Our clinical trainees include Postdoctoral Fellows, Doctoral Interns, and Clinical Externs. Our Peer Health Educators (PHEs) are undergraduate students who are highly trained by Well-Being Center staff in various health-related topics, especially those pertinent to AU students.

Off-campus referrals can also be made. To help students seeking off-campus services find a suitable therapist and navigate initial appointments, we have staff dedicated to referral management. For prescriptions and other psychiatric services and medical management, students may be seen at the Student Health Center.

The Well-Being Center was formed to meet the needs of AU students by integrating many facets of wellness into a single home. It was launched in Fall 2022 by combining the staff and services that were previously part of two centers: the Counseling Center and the Health Promotion and Advocacy Center (HPAC). Please note: Staff profiles may still reflect those previous names; all are now combined into the Well-Being Center.

Staff

Jeffrey Volkmann Executive Director, Counseling Center SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Jeffrey Volkmann, PhD is a Board Certified, Licensed Clinical Psychologist. Dr. Volkmann is currently the Executive Director at the Counseling Center. He completed his doctorate in Clinical Psycho

  (202) 885-3500

Shatina Williams Director of Clinical Services SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Shatina Williams (she/her) is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia. Before her joining the AU team, Dr. Williams completed her APA-accredited internship at our very own American Uni

  shatinaw@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Malini Basdeo Director of Well-Being Outreach and Prevention Services SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Malini Basdeo is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist at the American University Center for Well-Being Programs and Psychological Services. She oversees outreach and programming for the WBC, as well a

  basdeo@american.edu

Melissa Meulman Associate Director for Training SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Melissa Meulman, Psy.D. is a Licensed Psychologist and the Associate Director for Training at the AU Counseling Center. She provides individual and group therapy, crisis intervention and outreach/

  mmeulman@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Alexa Glazer Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Alexa Glazer is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker and Staff Clinician at the American University Center for Well-being. Prior to joining the Counseling staff at AU, she has had experience

  aglazer@american.edu

Alexius Pearson Victim Services Advocate SA | Center for Wellbeing

Alexius started her career in survivor support by serving at a local domestic violence and law enforcement agency. In her most recent role, Assistant Director in Multicultural Student Affairs at NC St

  apearson@american.edu

TJ Callan Assistant Director of Peer Programs SA | Center for Wellbeing

Joining AU in September of 2023, TJ Callan (He/Him) was born and raised in Miami, Florida. For undergrad, TJ went to the University of Miami, “The U”, where he received a bachelor’s degree in criminol

  tjcallan@american.edu

Dave Jean Staff Psychologist SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Dave K Jean is a staff clinician at the Well Being Center where he provides individual & group counseling, crisis interventions, outreach, and supervision. Dr. Jean has worked in a number of diffe

  dkjean@american.edu

Jacquelyn Nuber Staff Psychologist SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Jacquelyn Nuber is a staff clinician at the American University Well-Being Center. Prior to joining the staff at AU, Dr. Nuber has had experience working in university counseling, community mental

  jnuber@american.edu

Joy Hunter Staff Psychologist SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Joy Hunter is a Staff Psychologist at the American University Center for Well-Being Programs and Psychological Services, where she provides individual and group therapy, crisis intervention, and o

  jhunter@american.edu

Kate Larrabee Staff Clinician SA | Center for Wellbeing

Kate Larrabee is a licensed clinical social worker in the District of Columbia. Before coming to the American University Center for Well-Being Programming and Psychological Services, she worked in com

  larrabee@american.edu

Marika Gilbert Staff Psychologist SA | Center for Wellbeing

Dr. Marika Gilbert is a staff psychologist at the American University Center for Well-Being Programs and Psychological Services. Dr. Gilbert received her Psy.D. in Clinical Psychology at Nova Southeas

  mgilbert@american.edu

Maura McFadden Staff Psychologist SA | Center for Wellbeing

Maura McFadden, Psy.D. is a Staff Psychologist at the Center for Well-Being Programs and Psychological Services. She received her doctorate in clinical psychology at Divine Mercy University in 2021. B

  mmcfadden@american.edu

Michelle Dagne Victim Services Advocate SA | Center for Wellbeing

Michelle Dagne joined AU in September 2019. She is a DMV native, born and raised in Silver Spring, MD! She got her Bachelor of Science in Psychology from the University of Maryland, College Park (fun

  dagne@american.edu

Rachel Dietrich Staff Clinician - Law School (WCL) WCL | General Academics & Research

Rachel Dietrich is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker in the District of Columbia. She is thrilled to combine her passion for wellness, higher education, and mental health by serving the Wa

  racheld@american.edu

JR Denson AOD Prevention Specialist SA | Center for Wellbeing

Ronald Denson Jr., (“J.R.”) a native Washingtonian, is a health policy advisor and educator. He manages the alcohol and other drugs (AOD) programming at American University. His work supports students

  rdenson@american.edu

Sabrina Roc Staff Clinician SA | Center for Wellbeing

Sabrina Roc is a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist and staff clinician at American University. Prior to this role, she worked at a community mental health agency focused on trauma-informed counse

  sabrinar@american.edu

Taylor Lester Sports Clinician ATH | NCAA Athletics | Administration

Taylor Lester is a Licensed Professional Counselor working as a Sports Clinician embedded in AU Athletics. She is excited to combine her passion of working with student-athletes and mental wellness to

  tlester@american.edu

Varonica Johnson Staff Clinician SA | Center for Wellbeing

Varonica Johnson is a Licensed Professional Counselor and staff clinician at American University. Prior to this role, she has experience in school-based and community mental health settings. Varonica’

  vjohnson@american.edu

Administrative Staff

Tavia Harper Senior Administrative Assistant SA | Center for Wellbeing

Tavia, a native Washingtonian, came to AU via Select Staffing Temporary Agency in early 2000. Tavia started as an Administrative Assistant in the former “Center for Psychological and Learning Services

  tharper@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

2023 - 2024 Fellow

Alexander Patterson Postdoctoral Fellow Counseling Center

Alex Patterson, M.A. is returning as a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Center for Wellbeing Programs and Psychological Services after completing his doctoral internship at the Center. Alex provides individ

  patterson@american.edu

2023-2024 Doctoral Interns

Alya Gaspard Intern Clinician Counseling Center

Alya Gaspard is a doctoral intern at the American University Center for Well-Being Programs and Psychological Services. She holds a Master’s degree in Clinical Psychology and pursuing a Psy.D. from th

  alyag@american.edu

Jane Howitt Intern Clinician Counseling Center

Jane Howitt is a doctoral intern at the AU Center for Well-Being Programs and Psychological Services. She is completing her Psy.D. at the George Washington University. She has had the privilege of wor

  jhowitt@american.edu

Priya Bansal Intern Clinician Counseling Center

Priya Bansal is a doctoral intern at the AU Center for Well-Being and is completing her PhD in counseling psychology at the University of Maryland, College Park. She holds an M.A. in counseling psycho

  pbansal@american.edu

Clinical Trainees:

Each academic year our staff is also joined by clinical externs who are advanced graduate students in Counseling or Clinical Psychology from graduate programs in the DC area and Mid-Atlantic region.

Extern Class