Undergraduate Studies

  • Honors Program
  • AU Abroad
  • Merit Awards
  • University College
  • Frederick Douglass Scholars

AU Celebrates Ninth Truman Scholar in Nine Years

Deon Jones Truman Scholar

 Deon T. Jones, SPA/BA '14, has been named a 2013 Harry S. Truman Scholar. Jones—the youngest elected official in the history of Washington, D.C.; a former White House intern; and a first-generation college student—stands out for his exemplary record of public service. Jones is one of 62 Truman Scholars selected from a nationwide pool of 629 candidates.

Learn More


Advanced undergraduates are invited to be an American University Summer Scholar or Artist for summer 2014. Fellows will be awarded $4,000 to conduct full-time research with a faculty mentor that leads to significant scholarly or creative work. Learn about our 2014 winners.

Learn More