You are here: American University Faculty Senate Membership

Membership AY 2020-2021

Unit Designation
Members Elected (Term of Office)
Chair
Garret Martin (2022)
SIS
garretm@american.edu
Vice Chair
Lilian Baeza-Mendoza (2022)
CAS
baezamen@american.edu
Past Chair
John Heywood (2022)
WCL
heywood@american.edu
CAS Representative
Rebecca Hazen (2022)
CAS/Biology
hazen@american.edu
CAS Representative
David Haaga (2022)
CAS/Psychology
dhaaga@american.edu
CAS Representative
Britta Peterson (2022)
CAS/Performing Arts
bjp@american.edu
CAS Representative
Laura Beers (2022)
CAS/History
beers@american.edu
KSB Representative
Robert Hauswald (2022)
KSB
hauswald@american.edu
SOE Representative
Sarah Irvine Belson (2023)
SOE
sirvine@american.edu
SOC Representative
Randall Blair (2023)
SOC
rblair@american.edu

SIS Representative
Mirjana Morosini (2022)
SIS
morosini@american.edu
SPA Representative
Alan Levine(2023)
SPA
alevine@american.edu
University Library
Nikhat Ghouse (2023)
University Library
ghouse@american.edu
WCL Representative
Benjamin Leff (2022)
WCL
bleff@wcl.american.edu
At-Large Representative
Shawn Bates (2023)
SIS
sbates@american.edu
At-Large Representative
Jim Quirk (2023)
SPA
jquirk@american.edu
At-Large Representative
Richard Sha (2022)
CAS
rcsha@american.edu
At-Large Representative
Elizabeth Cotter (2022)
CAS
cotter@american.edu
At-Large Representative
Sarah Knight Marvar (2023)
CAS/Bio
sknight@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Learning Assessment (COLA)
Mike Cabot (2022)
CAS
cabot@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Faculty Actions (CFA)
Rhonda Zaharna(2022)
SOC/
zaharna@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Undergraduate Curriculum (UCC)
Cathy Schaeff (2022)
CAS/Biology
schaeff@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Graduate Curriculum (GCC)
Gabriel Mathy(2022)
CAS
mathy@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Information Services (CIS)
Mauro Tiso (2022)
CAS
mtiso@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Academic Budget & Benefits (CABB)
Olivia Ivey (2022)
University Library
oivey@american.edu
Chair, Faculty Committee on Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (FacCDEI)
Elissa Margolin (2022)
CAS
margolin@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Term Faculty Affairs (CTFA)
Carolyn Parker (2022)
SOE
caparker@american.edu
Chair, Committee on Scholarship (COS)
Jennifer Steele (2022)
SOE
steele@american.edu
Acting Provost
Peter Starr*
pstarr@american.edu
Interim Dean of Faculty
Monica Jackson *
monica@american.edu

* Ex officio, non-voting member