You are here: Meet the Staff

Clinical Staff

Jeffrey Volkmann Executive Director, Counseling Center Counseling Center

Dr. Jeffrey Volkmann, PhD is a Board Certified, Licensed Clinical Psychologist. Dr. Volkmann is currently the Executive Director at the Counseling Center. He completed his doctorate in Clinical Psycho

  (202) 885-3500

Natalie Rusch Associate Director for Training Counseling Center

Dr. Natalie Rusch is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia. She serves as the Associate Director for Training at the American University Counseling Center where she provides individual a

  rusch@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Shatina Williams Assistant Director for Outreach/Consultation Counseling Center

Dr. Shatina Williams is a licensed psychologist in Maryland and the District of Colombia, and is a Certified Clinical Trauma Professional. Before her position as a Staff Clinician, Dr. Williams comple

  shatinaw@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Alexandra Altman Clinical Case Manager Counseling Center

Alex Altman is an independent certified clinical social worker licensed in the District of Columbia and Maryland. She currently serves as clinical case manager at the American University Counseling Ce

  altman@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Alayna Berkowitz Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Alayna Berkowitz is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia and a staff clinician at the American University Counseling Center where she provides individual therapy, group therapy, cri

  alaynab@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Daniel Birichi Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Daniel Birichi is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia. Prior to this position, Dr. Birichi completed both his postdoctoral fellowship and APA-accredited internship at the AU counse

  dbirichi@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Jacquelin Darby Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Jacquelin Darby is a staff clinician at the AU Counseling Center where she provides individual and group counseling services, crisis intervention services, and outreach services. Dr. Darby complet

  jdarby@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Frances Rekrut Staff Clinician

Dr. Frances Rekrut is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia and a staff clinician at the American University Counseling Center where she provides individual and group therapy as well as

  rekrut@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Jennifer Bakalar Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Jennifer Bakalar is a licensed clinical psychologist in the District of Columbia and a staff clinician at the American University Counseling Center. She provides individual and group psychotherapy

  bakalar@american.edu

Samantha Gordin Part Time Staff

Samantha Gordin, LICSW, is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker in the Washington, D.C. area. Ms. Gordin is also in private practice in Dupont Circle, specializing in general mental health an

  sgordin@american.edu

Part-time Clinicians:

Lauren Finney

Clinical Trainees:

Each academic year our staff is also joined by clinical externs who are advanced graduate students in Counseling or Clinical Psychology from graduate programs in the DC area and Mid-Atlantic region.

Shari Matray
George Washington University

Catherine Coogan
George Washington University

2018-19 Clinical Externs:

Marlene Villegas

Corinne Kacmarek

Nick Talisman

Isabella Sierra

Amrisha Prakash

Candace Koman

Practicum Clinicians:

Coming soon!

Our staff is comprised of practicum trainees who are first-year and advanced graduate students in the Clinical Psychology PhD Program at American University. All of our staff trainees participate in coursework, individual and group supervision, outreach and consultation activities, and the delivery of psychological services to American University students.

Administrative Staff

Marsha Shaw Operations Administrator Counseling Center

Marsha, began working in the former “Center for Psychological and Learning Services” at AU 1996 after managing a private mental health partnership in downtown Washington for 17 years.

  mcshaw@american.edu

  (202) 885-3561

Tavia Harper Senior Administrative Assistant Counseling Center

Tavia, a native Washingtonian, came to AU via Select Staffing Temporary Agency in early 2000. Tavia started as an Administrative Assistant in the former “Center for Psychological and Learning Services

  tharper@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

2018 - 2019 Post-Doctoral Fellow

Bernasha Anderson Post-Doctoral Fellow

Dr. Bernasha Anderson is currently a post-doctoral fellow at the American University Counseling Center. Prior to beginning her post-doctoral fellowship, Dr. Anderson completed her doctoral studies at

  bernasha@american.edu

Laura Herron Post-Doc Fellow

Dr. Laura Herron is a Postdoctoral Fellow at the American University Counseling Center, where she provides individual and group therapy, crisis intervention, and outreach services. Prior to joining th

  lherron@american.edu

2018 - 2019 Doctoral Interns

Sarah Conlin Intern Clinician

Sarah Conlin is a Doctoral Intern Clinician at the American University (AU) Counseling Center and a Ph.D. candidate in her final year of the University of Florida’s Counseling Psychology program. Prio

  sconlin@american.edu

Arubah Khan Intern Clinician

Arubah Khan is a doctoral intern clinician at the American University (AU) Counseling Center, and a Ph.D. candidate in her final year of University of North Texas’s APA-accredited counseling psycholog

  arubahk@american.edu

Alyssa Poblete Intern Clinician

Alyssa Poblete is a Doctoral Intern at the American University Counseling Center (AUCC) and a graduate student at George Washington University's Clinical Psychology PhD program in Washington, DC. Prio

  apoblete@american.edu

Leslie Rubin Intern Clinician

Leslie Rubin is a Doctoral Intern at the American University Counseling Center and a graduate student in the Clinical Psychology Ph.D. program at American University. Leslie previously trained at the

  lrubin@american.edu