You are here: Meet the Staff

Clinical Staff

Jeffrey Volkmann Executive Director, Counseling Center Counseling Center

Dr. Jeffrey Volkmann, PhD is a Board Certified, Licensed Clinical Psychologist. Dr. Volkmann is currently the Executive Director at the Counseling Center. He completed his doctorate in Clinical Psycho

  (202) 885-3500

Natalie Rusch Director of Clinical Services Counseling Center

Dr. Natalie Rusch is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia. She serves as the Director of Clinical Services at the American University Counseling Center where she provides individual and

  rusch@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Shatina Williams Associate Director for Training Counseling Center

Dr. Shatina Williams is a licensed psychologist in Maryland and the District of Colombia, and is a Certified Clinical Trauma Professional. Before her position as a Staff Clinician, Dr. Williams comple

  shatinaw@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Nicholas Donahue Clinical Case Manager

Nicholas Donahue is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker in the District of Columbia. He currently serves as clinical case manager at the American University Counseling Center, where he provi

  nickd@american.edu

Daniel Birichi Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Daniel Birichi is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia. Prior to this position, Dr. Birichi completed both his postdoctoral fellowship and APA-accredited internship at the AU counse

  dbirichi@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Jacquelin Darby Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Jacquelin Darby is a staff clinician at the AU Counseling Center where she provides individual and group counseling services, crisis intervention services, and outreach services. Dr. Darby complet

  jdarby@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Frances Rekrut Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Frances Rekrut is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia and a staff clinician at the American University Counseling Center where she provides individual and group therapy as well as

  rekrut@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Jennifer Bakalar Staff Clinician Counseling Center

Dr. Jennifer Bakalar (Pronouns: she/her/hers) is a licensed psychologist in the District of Columbia and a staff clinician at the AU Counseling Center. She provides individual and group psychotherapy,

  bakalar@american.edu

Administrative Staff

Marsha Shaw Operations Administrator Counseling Center

Marsha, began working in the former “Center for Psychological and Learning Services” at AU 1996 after managing a private mental health partnership in downtown Washington for 17 years.

  mcshaw@american.edu

  (202) 885-3561

Tavia Harper Senior Administrative Assistant Counseling Center

Tavia, a native Washingtonian, came to AU via Select Staffing Temporary Agency in early 2000. Tavia started as an Administrative Assistant in the former “Center for Psychological and Learning Services

  tharper@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

2019 - 2020 Fellows

Arubah Khan Post-Doc Fellow

Arubah Khan is a post-doctoral fellow at the American University Counseling Center, and received her Ph.D. from the University of North Texas’s APA-accredited counseling psychology Ph.D. program. She

  arubahk@american.edu

Shari Matray Post-Doc Fellow

Shari Matray is a Clinical Fellow at the American University Counseling Center (AUCC) and a PhD candidate in counseling at The George Washington University. She is also a Licensed Graduate Professiona

  smatray@american.edu

Jacquelyn Nuber Post-Doctoral Fellow

Jacquelyn is a post-doctoral fellow at the American University Counseling Center. Prior to joining the counseling staff at AU, Jacquelyn has had experience working in university counseling, community

  jnuber@american.edu

2019-2020 Doctoral Interns

Catherine Coogan Intern Clinician Counseling Center

Catherine Coogan is a Doctoral Intern at the American University Counseling Center (AUCC). She is a graduate student in her final year at George Washington University's Clinical Psychology PhD program

  coogan@american.edu

Lina Liw Intern Clinician Counseling Center

Lina Liw is a doctoral intern clinician at the American University Counseling Center (AUCC), and a Ph.D. candidate at Purdue University’s APA-accredited Counseling Psychology doctoral program. Prior t

  liw@american.edu

Emma Nowicki Intern Clinician Counseling Center

Emma Nowicki is a Doctoral Intern Clinician at the American University Counseling Center (AUCC) and a Doctoral Candidate at the George Washington University Professional Psychology Psy.D. program. Emm

  enowicki@american.edu

Kayla Phillips Intern Clinician Counseling Center

Kayla Phillips is a doctoral intern at American University’s Counseling Center (AUCC) and a doctoral candidate at Auburn University's Counseling Psychology PhD program. She has provided individual and

  kphillips@american.edu

  (202) 885-3500

Part-time Clinicians:

Lauren Finney

Clinical Trainees:

Each academic year our staff is also joined by clinical externs who are advanced graduate students in Counseling or Clinical Psychology from graduate programs in the DC area and Mid-Atlantic region.

2019-2020 Clinical Externs:

Baylee Crone

Jesse Greenblatt

Corinne Kacmarek

Ann Krajewski

Amrisha Prakash

Nick Talisman

Jordan Watson

2019-2020 Practicum Clinicians:

Allison Coyne

Darian Weaver

Joyce Wong

Ryan Smout

Salman Al-Khalifa