Contact Us

McKinley Building

School of Communication 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top

Welcome Home

As one of our School of Communication alumni at American University, you belong to a powerful network of more than 12,000 highly successful professionals who practice in virtually every corner of the world and every communication and media discipline.

Our Alumni Relations and Development team connects alumni with each other and with current students for engagement, mentorship, and learning; creates opportunities for you to develop meaningful and lasting business relationships; and helps you support the School of Communication through specially-designed programs and events.

We offer a wide array of alumni benefits, from continuing education and career development opportunities, access to on-campus resources, invitations to exclusive alumni events, and more.

Reconnecting with the school not only benefits our students and our community, it enriches your life as well.

Dean’s Council

The School of Communication Dean's Council serves as our principal external volunteer board. Comprising leading alumni, parents, and friends of American University as well as current School of Communication students, the Dean's Council provides a high-level national resource network from the business, government, and non-profit communities. Council members serve as ambassadors to build broad-based support for the school's initiatives, partnerships, research centers, and academic programs; and to elevate the visibility of the School of Communication nationally and internationally.

  • Jeff Rutenbeck
    Dean, School of Communication, American University
  • Patrick H. Butler, MA/SOC '96, Chair
    President and CEO, Association of Public Television Stations
  • Jim M. Brady, BA/SOC '89
    CEO & Founder, Billy Penn
  • Chris Bravacos, BA/SOC '87
    President and CEO, Bravo Group
  • Rhonda Joy Brown, BA/SOC '76
    CEO/Founder, Greystone Advisors
  • Alisyn Camerota, BA/SOC '88
    Anchor, CNN Worldwide
  • Lorraine Cichowski, MA/SOC '76
  • Jennifer Collins, BA/SOC '96
    Event Planning Group, LLC
  • Rick D. Davis BA/SPA '81
    Executive Vice President, CNN
  • David R. Drobis, MA/SOC '65
    Chairman Emeritus, Ketchum, Inc., Member, American University Board of Trustees
  • Carey M. Earle, BA/SOC '88
    Director, Market Development, National Life Group
  • Keith G. Fleer, BA/SPA '64, JD/WCL '67
    Owner and Entertainment Lawyer, Keith G. Fleer Professional Corporation
  • Darryl B. Frank, BA/SOC '91
    Co-Head, DreamWorks Television
  • Erin M. Fuller BA/SPA '93, MPA/SPA '98
    President, Coulter
  • Barry J. Josephson, BA/SPA '78
    President, Josephson Entertainment
  • Michael W. Kempner, BA/SPA '81
    President and Chief Executive Officer, The MWW Group
  • Barry L. Levinson, ND/SOC '67
    Writer, Director, and Producer, Baltimore Pictures
  • James E. Middleton, BA/SOC '84
    Motion Picture Producer
  • Joy Thomas Moore, BA/SOC '72, MA/SOC '73
    President and CEO, JWS Media Consulting
  • Mitchell H. Nedick, BA/SPA '73
    Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, The CW Television Network
  • Anthony D. Perkins, BA/SOC '81
    Anchor, Fox 5 News
  • William L. Reihl, BA/SOC '94
    Managing Director, Global Brand Marketing Practice, Ketchum, Inc.
  • Steven M. Saferin, BA/SOC '70
    President, Scientific Games' Properties Group, Chief Creative Officer, Scientific Games Ventures
  • Diane Sutter, MS/SOC '74
    Trustee, KFWB Asset Trust, President/CEO ShootingStar Broadcasting
  • Sergio Terra
    Regional Manager, Eastern Region Sales Professional Solutions of America, Sony Electronics Inc
  • Amy Weiss, BA/SOC '87
    Chief Executive Officer, WEISS Public Affairs
  • Susan W. Zirinsky, BA/SOC '74
    Senior Executive Producer, CBS News
Over 700 students have benefited from our alumni mentoring program since 2002.
Pam Kaufman

Communications ·

Pam Kaufman to Address the 2019 School of Communication Commencement Ceremony

Read More

At the Crossroads of Technology and Democracy

I wanted to be part of the policy narrative.

Tatevik Sargsyan was inspired by her advisor, Laura DeNardis, a leading authority on Internet governance, to focus her research on how information intermediaries shape civil liberties and control access to information. Her studies crystallized her desire to use media and communication to promote freedom of expression. Today, she raises awareness of how national identification systems challenge privacy and human rights. As an AU adjunct professor, she sparks students to think deeply about these critical issues.