Last name starts with A

Stephanie Andrews Director of Enrollment and Analytics SOC - School of Communication

Stephanie returned to American University in 2020, after five years at the American Immigration Council, where she led business development of private sector exchange visitor programs for interns and

  rucker@american.edu

  (202) 885-2025

Guenet Assefa Finance Manager SOC - School of Communication

Joined SOC in 2019. Worked for Facilities Administration Services, then the Controller's Office as Senior Accountant at American University.

  guenet@american.edu

Last name starts with B

Justin Bernstine Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Academic Services SOC - School of Communication

Dr. Justin T. Bernstine joined SOC in 2016. Prior to coming to AU, Justin held a variety of positions in student and academic affairs at Portland State University, Montgomery College, and The George W

  justin@american.edu

  (202) 885-2049

Laura BonDurant Sr. Associate Dean for Academic Affairs SOC - School of Communication

Laura BonDurant joined the SOC in Janauary 2010. Prior to her role in the SOC she served as the Director of the Center for Academic Success at The Catholic University of America. Previously she was th

  bonduran@american.edu

  (202) 885-2054

Last name starts with C

Last name starts with D

Hannah Dale Academic Program Assistant SOC - School of Communication

Hannah Dale joined SOC in May 2019 as the Academic Program Assistant for the Journalism and Film & Media Arts divisions. She graduated from the University of Maryland, College Park in December 2018 wi

  hdale@american.edu

Last name starts with E

Adam Edge Business & Operations Coordinator, IRW SOC - School of Communication

Adam is the Business & Operations Coordinator at the Investigative Reporting Workshop, with a background in nonprofit management and administration.

  edge@american.edu

  (202) 885-3609

Last name starts with F

Meredith Fender Senior Administrative Assistant SOC - Game Lab

Meredith happily returned to her alma mater in January 2017, where she currently supports the AU Game Lab. She previously received her Master's in International Communication from SIS, and served as a

  fender@american.edu

  (202) 885-2014

Tom Fish Media Services Manager SOC - School of Communication

A member of the AU community since 2006, Tom Fish currently serves as Media Services Manager in the School of Communication. He oversees video production and post-production facilities, a newsroom, ph

  tfish@american.edu

  (202) 885-2132

Tara Flakker Senior Academic Advisor SOC - School of Communication

Tara Flakker joined the School of Communication in January 2014. Prior to AU, she was an at home parent and community advocate on school food inequity in DC. Before breaking from full time employment

  flakker@american.edu

  (202) 885-2088

Last name starts with G

Aisha Green Faculty Affairs Coordinator SOC - School of Communication

Aisha Green is the SOC Faculty Affairs Coordinator. She has experience in recruitment, human resources and payroll. She most recently worked with Georgetown University's Summer and Special Programs de

  aisha@american.edu

  (202) 885-2133

Last name starts with H

Kristian Higgins Director of Operations and Production SOC - School of Communication

Kris is the Director of Operations & Production for the Investigative Reporting Workshop. He has a background in non-profit management, having spent more than a decade overseeing grants and programs f

  khiggins@american.edu

  (202) 885-2679

Last name starts with J

Ellen Jimenez Administrative Coordinator SOC - School of Communication

Ellen Jimenez joined the School of Communication staff in the summer of 2008 as the Senior Administrative Assistant for the undergraduate office. She previously worked at Cesar Chavez Public Charter S

  ellen@american.edu

  (202) 885-2089

Last name starts with K

Jean Kinnahan McGee Senior Graduate Academic Advisor SOC - School of Communication

Jean McGee serves as the graduate advisor for all graduate students, full-time, part-time, and weekend, in the School of Communication. She has been working with the SOC graduate students since 2006.

  jmcgee@american.edu

  (202) 885-2078

Katerina Kulagina Assistant Dean for Graduate Academic Services SOC - School of Communication

Dr. Katerina Kulagina joined American University’s School of Communication in 2017. She oversees graduate marketing, recruitment and retention, graduate curriculum, online partnership, graduate advisi

  katerina@american.edu

  (202) 885-2272

Last name starts with M

Jeffrey Madison Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Former television director; former Walt Disney Studios Writing Fellow and Hollywood scripter; former airline pilot; current award-winning screenwriter and director; current aviation columnist and publ

  madison@american.edu

  (202) 885-2888

Kendaliz Mata Administrative Assistant, Graduate Services SOC - School of Communication

Kendaliz, also known as Kendy, joined the Office of Graduate Academic Services in February of 2018. She graduated from George Mason University with her bachelor's degree in May of 2017. During her tim

  kmata@american.edu

  (202) 885-2040

Theora Milledge Director, Communication & Outreach SOC - School of Communication

As Director of Communication and Outreach, Tia oversees communication strategy for the School of Communication to better engage current and prospective students, alumni and donors. She coordinates clo

  milledge@american.edu

  (202) 885-3695

Last name starts with P

Kristi Plahn-Gjersvold Assistant Dean of Administration and Strategic Initiatives SOC - School of Communication

In her role as Assistant Dean for Administration & Strategic Initiatives, Kristi provides leadership for the School of Communication’s external research funding administration, execution of strategic

  kristipg@american.edu

  (202) 885-2059

Zachary Prichard Technology Manager SOC - School of Communication

Zack took over the position of Computer Labs Manager for the School of Communication in August 2008. Prior to that, he spent two years working within the SOC’s Office of Technology as a graduate stude

  prichard@american.edu

  (202) 885-2093

Last name starts with R

Laura Ragusa Asst Dean-Budget and Technology SOC - School of Communication

Laura Murray has been a staff member at American University since 1977. Currently she works as the Assistant Dean for Budget and Facilities in the School of Communication. Her unit is responsible for

  lmurray@american.edu

  (202) 885-2063

Varsha Ramani Communication & Program Manager CMSI SOC - School of Communication

Varsha Ramani is the Communication & Program Manager for the Center for Media & Social Impact (CMSI). She is a marketing communications professional with an expertise in building relationships to work

  varsha@american.edu

  (202) 885-3641

Kayla Reid Academic Advisor SOC - School of Communication

Kayla Ferguson joined SOC in October 2017. Prior to this Kayla has two years of experience as an Admissions Counselor. Before entering the workforce, Kayla also had two years of experience as a peer a

  kaylaf@american.edu

  (202) 885-2079

Alyssa Rubio Academic Program Assistant SOC - School of Communication

Alyssa Rubio joined SOC in November 2019 as the Academic Program Assistant for the Communication Studies and Public Communication divisions. Prior to AU, she worked at USC for the Alumni Association's

  alyssaru@american.edu

Last name starts with S

Lydia Schindler Special Projects Manager SOC - School of Communication

As SOC Special Projects Manager, Lydia is responsible for managing, executing and following up on all aspects of the Dean's Internship program (recruitment, application process, promotion, and student

  lydias@american.edu

  (202) 885-2220

Shaun Schroth Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Shaun oversees the Photography Labs at American. These include the darkroom, film processing, studio, and digital work areas in the Mary Graydon Center

  shaun@american.edu

  (202) 885-2094

Last name starts with T

Last name starts with W

Danari White Assistant to the Dean SOC - School of Communication

Danari White joined the SOC Dean’s Office in 2019 as the new Assistant to the Dean/Inclusion Coordinator. Prior to working at AU, Danari was a fellow at Atlantic Media, where she worked as an Email Ma

  danari@american.edu

Brianna Williams Online Content Manager SOC - School of Communication

Brianna Williams joined the SOC Communication and Outreach office in August 2019 as the Online Content Manager. You may remember Brianna from her time at SOC as an undergraduate student, when she was

  bwilliams@american.edu

  (202) 885-2103