Physics Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Nathan Harshman Associate Professor and Department Chair, Physics CAS - Physics

Professor Harshman pursues research in theoretical physics, focusing his studies on the intersection of quantum information theory and particle physics. Entanglement is a fundamental resource for many

  harshman@american.edu

  (202) 885-3479

Gregory Harry Associate Professor CAS - Physics

Gregg Harry works to detect gravitational waves from supernovas, neutron stars, pulsars, and possibly the Big Bang.  In this way, he is testing Einstein’s theory of gravity against Newton’s. An astrop

  harry@american.edu

  (202) 885-3566

Teresa Larkin Associate Professor CAS - Physics

Teresa Larkin is an Associate Professor of Physics Education in the Department of Physics. She also serves as Director and Faculty Liaison to the Dual-degree Engineering Program.Dr. Larkin received he

  tlarkin@american.edu

  (202) 885-2766

Jessica Uscinski Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - Physics

Jessica Uscinski recently joined the Physics Department at American University as an Assistant Professor in Fall 2008. She received her PhD in Theoretical Physics from the University of Arizona in 200

  uscinski@american.edu

  (202) 885-3505

Other Faculty

Michael Gray Associate Professor Emeritus

Prof. Gray received his PhD in Physics from Pennsylvania State University in 1968, after which he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Toronto in 1968-1969. In 1969-1972, he was an Assistant

  gray@american.edu

  (202) 885-1430

Romeo Segnan Professor Emeritus

Romeo Segnan came to American University in 1967, where he pursued his career in physics. In 1987 he was appointed chair of the physics department, which he held for the next ten years. During the yea

  segnan@american.edu

Kishan Yerubandi Adjunct Instructor

Kishan Yerubandi is a mathematician and physicist, with interests high energy theory, gravitation, cosmology, mathematical physics, and education. He teaches courses in mathematics, statistics, and ph

  kishan@american.edu

Staff

Kristof Aldenderfer Adjunct Instructor CAS - Physics

Kristof is the Technology Manager for the Technology and Innovation Building on East Campus, and teaches in both the Physics and Computer Science departments.

  kristof@american.edu

  (202) 885-6431