You are here: American University Board of Trustees Current Trustees

Current Trustees

Marc N. Duber*
Chair of the Board; Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, The Bernstein Companies, Washington, DC
Gina F. Adams*
Vice Chair of the Board; Senior Vice President, Government and Regulatory Affairs, FedEx Corporation, Washington, DC
Janice Menke Abraham*
President & CEO, United Educators, Bethesda, MD
Sally Amoruso
Chief Partner Officer, EAB, Washington, DC
Michael Balmuth*
Chairman of the Board and Senior Advisor, Ross Stores, Inc., Dublin, CA
Gaurdie Banister Jr.
President and CEO (retired), Aera Energy LLC, Houston, TX
Stephanie M. Bennett-Smith
President Emerita, Centenary College, Hackettstown, NJ
Wesley G. Bush
Former Chairman and CEO, Northrop Grumman Corporation, McLean, VA
Jack C. Cassell*
President, Cassell Global Investments, Jupiter, FL
Pamela M. Deese*
Partner, Arent Fox PLLC, Washington, DC
Hani M.S. Farsi*
CEO, Corniche Group, Ltd., London, England
Mehdi Heravi*
Former professor and author, Washington, DC
Michael W. Kempner*
Founder & CEO, MikeWorldWide, New York, NY
Margery Kraus*
Founder & Executive Chairman, APCO Worldwide, Washington, DC
Gerald Bruce Lee*
Judge (retired), United States District Court, Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria, VA
Fernando Lewis Navarro*
Executive President, Grupo Mundial, Panama City, Panama
Charles H. Lydecker*
Chairman & CEO, Foundation Risk Partners, Daytona Beach, FL
Maril Gagen MacDonald
CEO/Founder, Gagen MacDonald, Chicago, IL
Betsy A. Mangone*
Vice President (retired), The Denver Foundation, Denver, CO
Alan L. Meltzer*
CEO & Founder, NFP | The Meltzer Group, Bethesda, MD
Korey Neal Sr.*
President, K. Neal Truck and Bus Center, Hyattsville, MD
Maria Otero
Former Under Secretary of State for Civilian Security, Democracy and Human Rights, U.S. Department of State, Washington, DC
Matthew S. Pittinsky*
President, Parchment, Scottsdale, AZ
Jeffrey A. Sine*
Partner, The Raine Group LLC, New York, NY
The Honorable David Trone
US Representative, Maryland (6th District); Co-Owner, Total Wine & More, Bethesda, MD

Ex-officio Trustees

Reverend Greg Bergquist
General Secretary, General Board of Higher Education and Ministry, United Methodist Church, Nashville, TN
Reverend LaTrelle Easterling
Bishop, Baltimore-Washington Conference of The United Methodist Church, Washington, DC
Sylvia M. Burwell^
President, American University, Washington, DC

Faculty Trustees

Lilian Baeza-Mendoza^
Chair, Faculty Senate; Senior Professorial Lecturer, Department of World Languages and Cultures, College of Arts and Sciences, American University, Washington, DC
Garret Martin^
Past Chair, Faculty Senate; Senior Professorial Lecturer, School of International Service, American University, Washington, DC

Student Trustee

Jehane Djedjro^*
Junior, School of International Service, American University


* Alumna/alumnus of American University
^ Non-voting trustee

Updated March 2023