Contact Us

Battelle , Room T23 on a map

American Studies 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016-8012 United States

Back to top

American Studies Faculty

Mary Ellen Curtin Associate Professor CAS - American Studies

Mary Ellen Curtin has a Ph.d from Duke University and is a historian of modern African American and women's social and political history. Her first book Black Prisoners and Their World documented the

  maryellen.curtin@american.edu

  (202) 885-6168

Tanja Aho Professorial Lecturer CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Dr Tanja Aho is a Professorial Lecturer in American Studies, where Dr Aho teaches classes focused on disability and madness, settler colonialism and racial capitalism, and gender and sexuality. Dr Aho

  aho@american.edu

Lydia X.Z. Brown Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Lydia X. Z. Brown is an advocate, organizer, attorney, strategist, and writer whose work focuses on interpersonal and state violence against disabled people at the intersections of race, class, gender

  lydiab@american.edu

Donald Collins Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Donald Earl Collins is a freelance writer and historian who has written on the topics of multiculturalism, education reform, race, and the history of African American and American identity for more th

  collinsd@american.edu

Anthony Gualtieri Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

As a public anthropologist working in the District of Columbia, I research creative economic development, placemaking, public policy, and inequality.

  anthonyg@american.edu

Christina Juhasz-Wood Professorial Lecturer CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Christina Juhász-Wood is a Professorial Lecturer in the American Studies Program where she teaches courses on American culture and history, poverty, and critical refugee studies. Her work focuses on s

  cjwood@american.edu

Theresa Runstedtler Associate Professor CAS - History

Theresa Runstedtler is a scholar of African American history whose research examines black popular culture, with a particular focus on the intersection of race, masculinity, labor, and sport. She is t

  runstedt@american.edu

  (202) 885-6991

Hye Young Shin Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Shin received her Ph.D. in Multilingual and Multicultural Education from George Mason University and Master’s degree in TESOL from American University. As a native Korean, she has taught both heri

  hshin@american.edu

  (202) 885-1513

Alison Thomas Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Alison Thomas has taught at AU since 2005, and has offered courses in the Department of Literature and in the American Studies Program. Her research focuses on information literacy and the teaching o

  athomas@american.edu

  (202) 885-8945

David Vazquez Associate Professor CAS - Literature

David J. Vázquez is Associate Professor of Literature and Critical Race, Gender, and Culture Studies. He teaches courses on comparative Latina/o/x literature, comparative ethnic American literature, c

  dvazquez@american.edu

Katharina Vester Associate Professor CAS - History

Katharina Vester is Associate Professor of History & American Studies at American University in Washington, D.C. She specializes in cultural theory, transnational studies, and the dynamics of power in

  vester@american.edu

  (202) 885-2409

Li (Lily) Wong Associate Professor CAS - Literature

Lily Wong is an Associate Professor in the departments of Literature (LIT) and Critical Race Gender and Culture Studies (CRGC) at American University. Her research focuses on the politics of affect/em

  wong@american.edu

  (202) 885-2987