Contact Us

Battelle , Room T21

American Studies 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016-8012 United States

Back to top

American Studies Faculty

Mary Ellen Curtin Associate Professor CAS - American Studies

Mary Ellen Curtin has a Ph.d from Duke University and is a historian of modern African American and women's social and political history. Her first book Black Prisoners and Their World documented the

  maryellen.curtin@american.edu

  (202) 885-6168

Tanja Aho Professorial Lecturer CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Dr Tanja Aho is a Professorial Lecturer (Visiting Assistant Professor) of American Studies at American University. Aho received a PhD in American Studies from the University at Buffalo in 2018, out of

  aho@american.edu

Marcy Campos Director, Center for Community Engagement & Service Ctr for Community Engagement and Svc

Marcy Fink Campos joined AU’s Center for Community Engagement & Service in 2004. As Director, she oversees all office programs and serves as the liaison to the Office of Campus Life, Academic Affairs,

  mfcampos@american.edu

  (202) 885-1551

Donald Collins Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Donald Earl Collins is a freelance writer and historian who has written on the topics of multiculturalism, education reform, race, and the history of African American and American identity for more th

  collinsd@american.edu

Charneka Lane Professorial Lecturer CAS - Anthropology

Dr. Nikki Lane has a rich interdisciplinary research program that borrows from feminist and queer traditions within Linguistic Anthropology, Cultural Studies, and Critical Geographies. In addition to

  nikki.lane@american.edu

Christopher Petrella Dir Advcy & Partnrshp ARPC SIS - School of International Service

Dr. Christopher Petrella teaches in American University's Critical Race, Gender, and Culture Studies Collaborative and serves as Director of Advocacy & Strategic Partnerships at the Antiracist Researc

  petrella@american.edu

Hye Young Shin Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Shin received her Ph.D. in Multilingual and Multicultural Education from George Mason University and Master’s degree in TESOL from American University. As a native Korean, she has taught both heri

  hshin@american.edu

  (202) 885-1513

Katharina Vester Associate Professor CAS - History

Katharina Vester is Assistant Professor of History & American Studies at American University in Washington, D.C. She specializes in cultural theory, transnational studies, and the dynamics of power in

  vester@american.edu

  (202) 885-2409

Stef Woods Professorial Lecturer CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Stef Woods is Faculty Director of AUx1 and teaches with the American Studies Program. She specializes in social media, American popular culture, sexuality, nonprofits, and activism. Stef has been

  swoods@american.edu