Contact Us

Battelle , Room T23

American Studies 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016-8012 United States

Back to top

American Studies Faculty

Mary Ellen Curtin Associate Professor CAS - American Studies

Mary Ellen Curtin has a Ph.d from Duke University and is a historian of modern African American and women's social and political history. Her first book Black Prisoners and Their World documented the

  maryellen.curtin@american.edu

  (202) 885-6168

Tanja Aho Professorial Lecturer CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Dr Tanja Aho is a Professorial Lecturer (Visiting Assistant Professor) of American Studies at American University. Aho received a PhD in American Studies from the University at Buffalo in 2018, out of

  aho@american.edu

Marcy Campos Director, Center for Community Engagement & Service Ctr for Community Engagement and Svc

Marcy Fink Campos joined AU’s Center for Community Engagement & Service in 2004. As Director, she oversees all office programs and serves as the liaison to the Office of Campus Life, Academic Affairs,

  mfcampos@american.edu

  (202) 885-1551

Donald Collins Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Donald Earl Collins is a freelance writer and historian who has written on the topics of multiculturalism, education reform, race, and the history of African American and American identity for more th

  collinsd@american.edu

Anthony Gualtieri Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

As a public anthropologist working in the District of Columbia, I research creative economic development, placemaking, public policy, and inequality.

  anthonyg@american.edu

Jason Ottley Adjunct Instructor Provost, Office of the

Dr. Jason Ottley (he/him/his) serves as an Assistant Director of First Year Advising at American University. Prior to this position, Jason was a Visiting Assistant Professor at California University o

  jottley@american.edu

Theresa Runstedtler Associate Professor CAS - History

Theresa Runstedtler is a scholar of African American history whose research examines black popular culture, with a particular focus on the intersection of race, masculinity, labor, and sport. She is t

  runstedt@american.edu

  (202) 885-6991

Hye Young Shin Professorial Lecturer CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Shin received her Ph.D. in Multilingual and Multicultural Education from George Mason University and Master’s degree in TESOL from American University. As a native Korean, she has taught both heri

  hshin@american.edu

  (202) 885-1513

Alison Thomas Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Alison Thomas has taught at AU since 2005, and has offered courses in the Department of Literature and in the American Studies Program. Her research focuses on information literacy and the teaching o

  athomas@american.edu

  (202) 885-8945

David Vazquez Associate Professor CAS - Literature

David J. Vázquez is Associate Professor of Literature and Critical Race, Gender, and Culture Studies. He teaches courses on comparative Latina/o/x literature, comparative ethnic American literature, c

  dvazquez@american.edu

Katharina Vester Associate Professor CAS - History

Katharina Vester is Associate Professor of History & American Studies at American University in Washington, D.C. She specializes in cultural theory, transnational studies, and the dynamics of power in

  vester@american.edu

  (202) 885-2409

Li (Lily) Wong Associate Professor CAS - Literature

Lily Wong is an Associate Professor in the departments of Literature (LIT) and Critical Race Gender and Culture Studies (CRGC) at American University. Her research focuses on the politics of affect/em

  wong@american.edu

  (202) 885-2987