Part-Time Literature Department Faculty

Janet Auten CAS - Literature

Janet Gebhart Auten has taught the graduate seminar in Teaching Composition and has directed the Writing Center since 2000. She holds a PhD in Rhetoric/ Composition and American Lit. from Bowling Gree

  jauten@american.edu

  (202) 885-2792

Andrew Bertaina Adjunct Instructor University Library

Andrew Bertaina is a Circulation Specialist at American University Library. In his role at the library, Andrew assists student, staff, and faculty in accessing resources, distributing and requesting p

  bertaina@american.edu

  (202) 885-6784

Nathaniel Conroy Scholar in Residence

Nathaniel Conroy teaches courses on nineteenth and twentieth century American literature. His research interests include religion and literature, critical theory, digital humanities, and secularism an

  nconroy@american.edu

Kelsey Kerr Adjunct Instructor

Kelsey Kerr holds an M.F.A. in poetry from the University of Maryland. She earned her bachelor's in studio art and English - creative writing from Denison University in Granville, Ohio. Kelsey hails f

  kkerr@american.edu

Nancy Kidder Adjunct Instructor

Nancy Kidder is a graduate of Duke University and received her MFA in creative nonfiction from American University in Washington, DC, where she currently teaches writing. In Spring 2017, she taught tw

  nk3427a@american.edu

Michael Moreno Adjunct Instructor CAS - Literature

Michael A. Moreno is a Washington, DC-based writer. He teaches college writing at American University and teaches college, research and business writing at the University of Maryland University Colleg

  michael.moreno@american.edu

Anne-Sophie Noel Adjunct Assistant Professor

I am a philologist and cultural historian of ancient Greece, with a specific interest in drama, performance and reception. Currently a scholar-in-residence at American University, I am preparing a bo

  asnoel@american.edu

Patricia Reichler Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Trisha Reichler joined the College Writing faculty in 2003. Her primary areas of interest are post-modernist literature and the writings of emerging, intersectional resistance movements.

  treich@american.edu

  (202) 885-2910