Directors

Jeffrey Bachman Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Jeff Bachman is a Professorial Lecturer in Human Rights and Director of the Ethics, Peace, and Human Rights MA Program. His research and teaching interests focus primarily on critical genocide studies

  bachman@american.edu

  (202) 885-6826

Evan Berry Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Evan Berry is Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Programs in the Department of Philosophy and Religion. His research examines the relationship between religion and the public sphere in conte

  berry@american.edu

  (202) 885-2493

Affiliate Faculty

Eric Abitbol Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Eric Abitbol is an academic-practitioner in the field of environmental peacebuilding, housed in IPCR (International Peace and Conflict Resolution) and GEP (Global Environmental Politics) at American U

  abitbol@american.edu

  (202) 885-6583

Debra Bergoffen Bishop Hamilton Lecturer in Philosophy

Dr. Debra Bergoffen is the Bishop Hamilton Lecturer in Philosophy at American University and Professor Emerita of Philosophy at George Mason University. During her tenure at Mason she chaired the Depa

  bergoffe@american.edu

Robin Broad Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Robin Broad, Professor of International Development, established and heads SIS’s International Development Program’s unique curricular offerings on economic globalization and development and on en

  rbroad@american.edu

  (202) 885-1478

Daniel Esser Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Esser's current research investigates social foundations of political legitimacy in non-democratic settings, with a geographic focus on urban areas in the global South. This new line of inqu

  esser@american.edu

  (202) 885-1892

Ellen Feder Professor and Department Chair, Philosophy and Religion CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2913

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Julie Mertus Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Julie Mertus has written widely on human rights and gender, conflict, the Balkans, U.S. foreign policy and U.N. institutions. She is the author or editor of ten books, including Bait and Swi

  mertus@american.edu

  (202) 885-2215

Shadi Mokhtari Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Shadi Mokhtari specializes in human rights, Middle East Politics and Political Islam. She has an extensive background in human rights and women’s rights issues in the Middle East and Muslim World. She

  shadi.mokht@american.edu

  (202) 885-6570

Amy Oliver Associate Professor CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Professor Oliver's teaching and research on Latin America explore philosophical topics such as marginality, feminism, nepantlismo, and transfronterismo. She works on the Hispanic essay of ideas and La

  aoliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2140

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943

Jin Y. Park Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Jin Y. Park is Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Founding Director of Asian Studies Program at American University. Park's research areas include East Asian Buddhism (especially Zen and Huayan

  jypark@american.edu

  (202) 885-2919

Abdul Said Prof Emeritus

Dr. Said is the senior ranking professor at American University and the first occupant of the endowed Mohamed Said Farsi Chair of Islamic Peace. He founded the university-wide Center for Global Peace,

  asaid@american.edu

Michael Schroeder Assistant Dean for MA Programs SIS-School of Intl Service

Michael Schroeder is Senior Professorial Lecturer and Assistant Dean for Masters Education at the School of International Service. He previously served as the director of the school's Global Governanc

  schroede@american.edu

  (202) 885-1664

Susan Shepler Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Shepler's research interests include youth and conflict, reintegration of former child soldiers, post-conflict reconstruction, refugees, education and economic development, NGOs and globalization,

  shepler@american.edu

  (202) 885-2454

Lauren Weis Director, WGSS CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the American University faculty in 2008, and have been teaching courses in the history of philosophy, metaphysics, ethics, gender studies, and feminist theory. My philosophical research focus

  weis@american.edu

  (202) 885-2926