You are here: William M. LeoGrande Award and Prize

Back to top

LeoGrande Award and Prize 2018

The William M. LeoGrande Competition committees are no longer accepting nominations for the 2018 LeoGrande Award and the 2018 LeoGrande Prize. For information about the 2018 awardees, please see the award announcement below: 

The William M. LeoGrande Award and the The William M. LeoGrande Prize were established in 2012 to honor William M. LeoGrande's tenure as Dean of American University's School of Public Affairs from 2003 to 2012. The endowed award was made possible through the financial support of alumni, friends, and colleagues of Professor LeoGrande.

One of the world's most accomplished scholars in Latin American politics and U.S. foreign policy, Professor LeoGrande continues to serve as a Professor of Government at American University. He has written five books, including Back Channel to Cuba: The Hidden History of Negotiations between Washington and Havana. Most recently, he was co-editor of A New Chapter in US-Cuba Relations: Social, Political, and Economic Implications.

Professor LeoGrande has been a Council on Foreign Relations International Affairs Fellow, and a Pew Faculty Fellow in International Affairs. His articles have appeared in various international and national journals, magazines and newspapers.

The William M. LeoGrande Award

In 2012, the School of Public Affairs and the Center for Latin American and Latino Studies established the William M. LeoGrande Award for the best book or article in Latin American or Latino Studies published by a member of the American University community. The $2,000 award is given annually to the author of a book or article published during the preceding two years.

  • 2018 Recipient:
    Anthony Fontes, Assistant Professor, School of International Service, Mortal Doubt: Transnational Gangs and Social Order in Guatemala City (University of California Press, 2018)
  • 2017 Recipient:
    Michael Bader, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Arts & Sciences, (with Siri Warkentien) "The Fragmented Evolution of Racial Integration since the Civil Rights Movement" ( Sociological Science, 2016)
  • 2016 Recipient:
    Austin Hart, Assistant Professor of Quantitative Methods and Coordinator of the Graduate Methods Program, AU's School of International Service, Economic Voting: A Campaign-Centered Theory (Cambridge University Press, 2016)
  • 2015 Recipient:
    Macarena Sáez, Director of the Center for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law and Fellow in the International Legal Studies Program, AU's Washington College of Law, "Transforming Family Law through Same-Sex Marriage: Lessons From (and To) the Western World" (Duke Journal of Comparative and International Law, 2014)
  • 2014 Recipient:
    Eileen J. Suárez Findlay, Associate Professor, Department of History, AU College of Arts and Sciences, We are Left without a Father Here: Masculinity, Domesticity, and Migration in Postwar Puerto Rico (Duke University Press, 2014)
  • 2013 Recipients:
    Agustina Giraudy, Assistant Professor, AU School of International Service, "Varieties of Subnational Undemocratic Regimes: Evidence from Argentina and Mexico," in Studies in Comparative International Development 48 (1): 51-80 (2013)
    T. Garrett Graddy, Assistant Professor, AU School of International Service, "Situating in Situ: A Critical Geography of Agricultural Biodiversity Conservation in the Peruvian Andes and Beyond," in Antipode 46 (2): 426-454 (2014) (first published online August 30, 2013)
  • 2012 Recipient:
    Todd A. Eisenstadt, Professor of Government, AU School of Public Affairs, Politics, Identity, and Mexico's Indigenous Rights Movements (Cambridge University Press, 2011)

The William M. LeoGrande Prize

In 2012, the School of Public Affairs and the Center for Latin American and Latino Studies at American University established the William M. LeoGrande Prize for the best book on U.S.-Latin American relations. This $1,000 prize is awarded annually to the author or editor of a book published in Spanish, English, or Portuguese during the preceding two years.

  • 2018 Recipient:
    Lars Schoultz, William Rand Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Political Science, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, In Their Own Best Interest: A History of the U.S. Effort to Improve Latin Americans (Harvard University Press, 2018)
  • 2017 Recipient:
    Tore C. Olsson, Assistant Professor, Department of History, The University of Tennessee-Knoxville, Agrarian Crossings: Reformers and the Remaking of the US and Mexican Countryside (Princeton University Press, 2017)
  • 2016 Recipient:
    Aragorn Storm Miller, Lecturer, Department of History, University of Texas-Austin, Precarious Paths to Freedom: The United States, Venezuela, and the Latin American Cold War (University of New Mexico Press, 2016)
  • 2015 Recipient:
    Andrew Torget, Assistant Professor of History, University of North Texas, Seeds of Empire: Cotton, Slavery, and the Transformation of the Texas Borderlands, 1800-1850 (University of North Carolina Press, 2015)
  • 2014 Recipient:
    Alan McPherson, ConocoPhillips Petroleum Chair of Latin American Studies, University of Oklahoma, The Invaded: How Latin Americans and Their Allies Fought and Ended U.S. Occupations (Oxford University Press, 2014)
  • 2013 Recipient:
    Kathleen C. Schwartzman, University of Arizona, The Chicken Trail: Following Workers, Migrants, and Corporations across the Americas (Cornell University Press, 2013)
  • 2012 Recipients:
    Alexandra Délano, Assistant Professor of Global Studies, The New School, New York, Mexico and Its Diaspora in the United States: Policies of Emigration since 1848 (Cambridge University Press, 2011)
    José Ángel Hernández, Assistant Professor of History, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, Mexican American Colonization during the Nineteenth Century: A History of the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands (Cambridge University Press, 2012)