Contact Us

Political Theory Institute 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top

Founding Director

 

Director of Special Programs

 

Thomas Merrill Associate Professor SPA - Government

Thomas Merrill is an Associate Professor in the School of Public Affairs. He is the author of Hume and the Politics of Enlightenment (Cambridge, 2015), which won the Delba Winthrop Prize for Best Rece

  merrill@american.edu

  (202) 885-6246

Core Faculty


G. Borden Flanagan Assistant Professor SPA - Government

On research leave at the University of Toronto for the academic year 2014-2015. Borden Flanagan’s area of expertise is the history of Western political philosophy. His teaching and research interests

  flanagan@american.edu

  (202) 885-6495

Sarah Houser Professorial Lecturer SPA - Government

Sarah L. Houser is a professorial lecturer in the Department of Government in the School of Public Affairs at American University. Her research and teaching interests include patriotism and cosmopolit

  houser@american.edu

  (202) 885-6263

Faculty Associates


Karen Baehler Scholar in Residence SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Karen Baehler holds a Ph.D. in Policy Sciences from the University of Maryland (1999), where she also earned a Master of Public Policy (1991). Her B.A. is from St. Olaf College (1981), where

  baehler@american.edu

  (202) 885-6072

Daniel Dreisbach Professor SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Professor Dreisbach earned a doctor of philosophy degree from Oxford University, where he studied as a Rhodes Scholar, and a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Virginia. His principal research

  ddreisb@american.edu

  (202) 885-2380

Laura Field Professorial Lecturer SIS - School of International Service

Laura K. Field is a political theorist in the School of International Service. She works on questions of character, identity, and ethics, and has a particular interest in the thought of Rousseau and N

  lkfield@american.edu

  (202) 885-1694

Seth Gershenson Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Seth Gershenson holds a PhD from Michigan State University in Economics with a primary focus on education policy. While at Michigan State, he taught several courses and received an Outstanding Teachin

  gershens@american.edu

  (202) 885-2687

Bradley Hardy Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Hardy is on leave to the Russell Sage Foundation during the 2018-2019 academic year. Hardy is an Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy and nonresident senior fellow in

  hardy@american.edu

  (202) 885-3881

Jeffrey Reiman Prof Emeritus

Please contact at jreiman@american.edu. Jeffrey Reiman is the William Fraser McDowell Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Social Policy. He was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1942. After receiving h

  jreiman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2925

Renee Souris Professorial Lecturer SPA - Government

Renee Nicole Souris, Ph.D. received her doctorate in Justice, Law and Society with a second field in Political Theory from AU's School of Public Affairs in May 2014. Broadly speaking, her research exa

  souris@american.edu

  (202) 885-6550

Siri Terjesen Dean's Faculty Fellow in Entrepreneurship and Director, AU Ctr for Innovation KSB - Management

Dr. Siri Terjesen is Dean's Research Fellow in Entrepreneurship at American University’s Kogod School of Business and Director of the AU Center for Innovation. Concurrently she is a Professor .2 at th

  terjesen@american.edu

  (202) 885-1921

Paul Wapner Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Paul Wapner’s research focuses on global environmental politics, environmental thought, transnational environmental activism, and environmental ethics. He is particularly concerned with unde

  pwapner@american.edu

  (202) 885-1647