Arab World Studies Faculty 

Director

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943

Faculty

Seraje Assi Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Seraje Assi holds a PhD in Arabic and Islamic Studies from Georgetown University, where he serves as a Visiting Fellow. He is the author of The History and Politics of the Bedouin: Reimagining Nomadis

  assi@american.edu

Mustafa Gurbuz Sr Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Mustafa Gurbuz is a political sociologist whose research focuses on political violence and terrorism, conflict resolution, social movements, Muslims in the West, and ethnic/sectarian politics in the M

  gurbuz@american.edu

Judd King Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Judd King currently teaches in the Department of Philosophy and Religion and is affiliated with the Arab World Studies Program. His primary research interests are modern political Islam, contemporary

  jking@american.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Mohammed Abu-Nimer Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Mohammed Abu-Nimer, of the International Peace and Conflict Resolution program, serves as Director of the Peacebuilding and Development Institute. He has conducted interreligious conflict resolution t

  abunimer@american.edu

  (202) 885-1656

Boaz Atzili Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Boaz Atzili is a political scientist who researches and teaches international politics. His interest is in international security with an emphasis on the politics of borders and territoriality, de

  atzili@american.edu

  (202) 885-1648

Naima Hachad Assistant Professor CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Dr. Hachad's research interests include questions of language, gender and sexuality, transnationalism, and the representation of violence in Maghrebi and Caribbean cultural productions. She has explor

  hachad@american.edu

  (202) 885-1458

Anders C. Hardig Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Anders Härdig is a Professorial Lecturer in the Comparative Politics and Regional Studies (CRS) program at the School of International Service (SIS). His main fields of expertise are international

  hardig@american.edu

  (202) 885-1541

Shadi Mokhtari Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Shadi Mokhtari specializes in human rights, Middle East Politics and Political Islam. She has an extensive background in human rights and women’s rights issues in the Middle East and Muslim World. She

  shadi.mokht@american.edu

  (202) 885-6570

Erez Naaman Associate Professor and Department Associate Chair, World Languages & Cultures CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Naaman’s research interests include Arabic language, literature, and culture in the medieval and Pre-Modern Islamic world and the intellectual history of this period.

  naaman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2468

Ghiyath Nakshbendi Executive in Residence KSB - International Business

Professor Nakshbendi teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in Islamic Finance, project finance, microfinance, Trade and Project Finance, export-import management, international business and the g

  G.Nakshbendi@american.edu

  (202) 885-3268

Mohamed Nimer Assistant Professor School of Prof and Extd Studies

Areas of Expertise: Quantitative Methods, International Development, Middle EastDr. Nimer teaches International Affairs and Intercultural Understanding at the School of Professional and Extended Studi

  nimer@american.edu

  (202) 895-4921

Pedram Partovi Associate Professor CAS - History

Pedram Partovi is a historian of the medieval and modern Muslim world. His current research focuses on the history of youth movements and their role in creating and disrupting the political order in I

  partovi@american.edu

  (202) 885-6746

Anthony Quainton Distinguished Diplomat in Residence SIS-School of Intl Service

Ambassador Anthony Quainton is the Diplomat-in-Residence and a professor of U.S. Foreign Policy, having previously served in the United States Foreign Service and held ambassadorships to the Central A

  quainton@american.edu

  (202) 885-1669

Abdul Said Prof Emeritus

Dr. Said is the senior ranking professor at American University and the first occupant of the endowed Mohamed Said Farsi Chair of Islamic Peace. He founded the university-wide Center for Global Peace,

  asaid@american.edu

Kendra Salois Assistant Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Kendra Salois received the Ph.D. in Music from the University of California, Berkeley, in 2013. Prior to joining the Department of Performing Arts at AU, she was a Visiting Assistant Professor at the

  salois@american.edu

  (202) 885-3431

Cathy Schneider Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Cathy Lisa Schneider writes and teaches on urban politics, comparative social movements, collective violence, urban policing, criminal justice and racial and ethnic discrimination in Europe, the Unite

  schneider.cathy@american.edu

  (202) 885-1666

Randa Serhan Assistant Professor CAS - Sociology

Randa Serhan is a political sociologist who is interested in immigrant communities, nationalism, and citizenship. She began graduate school in Canada where she was interested in gender and law. Since

  serhan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3383

Diane Singerman Associate Professor SPA - Government

Dr. Singerman is an Associate Professor and comparativist whose research interests focus on political change from below, particularly in the Middle East, and more specifically Egypt. Her work examines

  dsinger@american.edu

  (202) 885-2362

John Willoughby Professor CAS - Economics

Professor Willoughby has recently returned from a two-year stay in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates where he helped create an undergraduate economics program at the new American University of Sharjah. He

  jwillou@american.edu

  (202) 885-3759