You are here: American University School of Education Faculty Affiliate Faculty

Affiliate Faculty

Seth Gershenson Professor SPA | Public Administration

Seth Gershenson holds a PhD from Michigan State University in Economics with a primary focus on education policy. While at Michigan State, he taught several courses and received an Outstanding Teachin

  seth.gershenson@american.edu

  (202) 885-2687

Thomas Husted Professor CAS | Economics

My research examines the political economy of various government expenditure programs, including primary and secondary education, income redistribution, and federal disaster aid.

  husted@american.edu

  (202) 885-3773

Kiho Kim Adjunct Professor CAS | Environmental Science

Kiho Kim (he/him) is an adjunct Professor in the Department of Environmental Science.As a marine scientist, his research focuses on understanding how environmental drivers, such as nutrient pollution

  kiho@american.edu

  (202) 885-2181

Naomi Moland Senior Professorial Lecturer SIS | Peace, Human Rights & Cultural Relations

Naomi A. Moland’s research and teaching focus on global media, international education, peace and conflict, LGBT rights, and the globalization of pluralist ideologies. Her recent book (based on her aw

  moland@american.edu

  (202) 885-6621

Taryn Morrissey Professor SPA | Public Administration

Dr. Morrissey's work centers on examining and improving public policies for children and families. Ongoing research examines early care and education policy, paid family leave, family economic inst

  morrisse@american.edu

  (202) 885-6323

John Nolan Adjunct Professor CAS | Math and Statistics

Prof. Nolan has taught at the University of Zambia (in Africa), and Kenyon College (in Ohio), and worked in a software company before coming to American University. His main research interests are in

  jpnolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3140

Susan Shepler Associate Professor SIS | Peace, Human Rights & Cultural Relations

Susan Shepler is an anthropologist with twenty years of experience working in conflict-affected West Africa. Her research focus is understanding how local communities engage with international interve

  shepler@american.edu

Amanda Taylor Asst. VP of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion SA | Finance & Personnel Administration

Dr. Taylor's research and teaching focus on the intersection of culture, power, and education in domestic and international contexts. She earned her doctorate of education and her master's in educatio

  ataylor@american.edu

  (202) 885-3827