Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy Dean, School of Education SOE - School of Education

Dr. Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy believes in the revolutionary power of school counseling. An American Counseling Association (ACA) Fellow with 30 years of experience as a former kindergarten teacher, element

  cholcomb@american.edu

Corbin Campbell Associate Dean, Academic Affairs and Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Campbell is Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Associate Professor in the School of Education. Her research, funded by the Spencer Foundation and the National Academy of Education, examines th

  campbell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8256

Faculty

 

Alida Anderson Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Alida Anderson is an associate professor in the School of Education at American University. She earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park focusing on early chil

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Samantha Cohen Executive Director of EdD Program and Senior Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Samantha directs the School of Education's doctoral studies, and she is responsible for launching the inaugural, practitioner based program in education leadership and policy. Samantha teaches courses

  cohen@american.edu

  (202) 885-8965

Amaarah DeCuir Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. DeCuir is an Education Leadership scholar whose work, broadly speaking, focuses on the intersections of leadership, gender, and diverse cultural contexts to advance social justice.

  adecuir@american.edu

  (202) 885-2124

Traci Dennis Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Traci Dennis joined the American University School of Education as a full-time term faculty member in 2016. In her current role she teaches undergraduate and graduate students in varied courses. T

  tdennis@american.edu

  (202) 885-8964

Antonio Ellis Scholar in Res. and Director of the Institute for Education Equity and Justice

Dr. Antonio L. Ellis is a Scholar in Residence and Director of the Institute on Education Equity and Justice at the American University School of Education. He teaches special education courses and ad

  aellis@american.edu

Olatokunbo Fashola Research Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Olatokunbo (Toks) Fashola is a Research Professor and the Faculty Coordinator for the Dual Enrollment Program at American University. Her current research interests include STEM among underreprese

  fashola@american.edu

  (202) 885-3716

Michael Gibbons Scholar in Residence SOE - School of Education

Mr. Gibbons is ITEP Scholar in Residence at the School of Education for 2020-2022 academic years. He has worked in basic education, community development and social justice since the mid 1970s in nume

  gibbons@american.edu

Sarah Irvine Belson Interim Vice Provost for Research SOE - School of Education

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instruction with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with dis

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Reuben Jacobson Director of Education Policy and Leadership Program & Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Reuben Jacobson has worked at the intersection of education research, policy, and practice for nearly 20 years. He is committed to educational change and equity and has substantial experience desi

  reubenj@american.edu

  (202) 885-3786

Anne Karabell Instructor SOE - School of Education

Annie Karabell joined the Institute for Innovation in Education at the School of Education in 2019. Her research interests include early childhood literacy, reading disabilities, and inclusive instruc

  karabell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8253

Adelaide Kelly-Massoud Director for the Special Education Program SOE - School of Education

Dr. Adelaide Kelly-Massoud is the Director of the MA in Special Education: Learning Disabilities program. Adelaide received her undergraduate from the University of Connecticut. Soon after she receive

  adelaide@american.edu

  (202) 885-8254

Stefan Lallinger Scholar-in-Residence

Dr. Lallinger is an Education Fellow at the Century Foundation, a non-partisan progressive think tank, and the Director of the Bridges Collaborative, a national initiative that serves as a hub for pra

  slallinger@american.edu

Brian McGowan Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Brian L. McGowan, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Education and Associate Director of Pedagogy and Higher Education Research in the Center for Teaching, Research, and Learning at American Universit

  bmcgowan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2809

Cynthia Miller-Idriss Professor, School of Public Affairs and School of Education SPA - School of Public Affairs

Cynthia Miller-Idriss is Professor in the School of Public Affairs and in the School of Education, and runs the Polarization and Extremism Research & Innovation Lab (PERIL) in the Center for Universit

  (202) 885-3740

Emily Morris Director of Intl Training and Education Program and Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Emily (Markovich) Morris is a scholar and educator of comparative education and international development whose research explores questions of social justice and equity through formal and nonforma

  emorris@american.edu

  (202) 885-8218

Hannah Park Associate Librarian University Library

Hannah Lee Park is the Education and School of Professional & Extended Studies Librarian at American University. Her professional roots began in the field of education. She started out as a high schoo

  hpark@american.edu

  (202) 885-3845

Carolyn Parker Director of Master of Arts in Teaching Program and Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Carolyn Parker is the Director of the Master of Arts in Teaching Program in the School of Education. She began her career as a science educator as a Peace Corps volunteer in Guatemala. Upon her return

  caparker@american.edu

  (202) 885-6259

Emily Grossnickle Peterson Assistant Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Emily Grossnickle Peterson is an Assistant Professor in the School of Education and an affiliate faculty member in the Psychology Department and the Behavior, Cognition, and Neuroscience PhD progr

  epeterso@american.edu

  (202) 885-3098

Robert Shand Assistant Professor SOE - School of Education

Robert D. Shand is Assistant Professor in the School of Education at American University. He received his Ph.D. in Economics and Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. A former high sch

  rshand@american.edu

  (202) 885-6917

Robert Simmons Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Robert began his career as a middle school STEM teacher in the Detroit Public Schools. As a former teacher, school administrator, school district senior leader, and tenured professor of urban educatio

  rsimmons@american.edu

Jason Snyder Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Jason Snyder’s teaching and research focuses on education law and education policy. He developed and served as founding director of AU's Education Policy and Leadership (EPL) program from 2014-2018. P

  jtsnyder@american.edu

  (202) 885-6209

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University (AU), and an affiliate faculty member in AU's Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her res

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762

Vivian Vasquez Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Vivian Maria Vasquez is a Professor of Education at American University. She has worked in the field of education for over 30 years. Her research interests are in critical literacy, early literacy

  vvasque@american.edu

Stephen Vassallo Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

In his teaching and scholarship, Vassallo works to merge perspectives to critically explore issues related to teaching and learning, especially in the context of academic self-regulation. He draws fro

  vassallo@american.edu

  (202) 885-3048

Elizabeth A. Worden Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Elizabeth Anderson Worden is a comparative and international education scholar who examines how governments foster identities and belonging through education during social and political transition

  eaworden@american.edu

  (202) 885-3723

Affiliate Faculty

 

Seth Gershenson Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Seth Gershenson holds a PhD from Michigan State University in Economics with a primary focus on education policy. While at Michigan State, he taught several courses and received an Outstanding Teachin

  seth.gershenson@american.edu

  (202) 885-2687

Thomas Husted Professor CAS - Economics

My research examines the political economy of various government expenditure programs, including primary and secondary education, income redistribution, and federal disaster aid.

  husted@american.edu

  (202) 885-3773

Alison Jacknowitz Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Alison Jacknowitz is the Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs for the School of Public Affairs (SPA) at American University and a Professor in the Department of Public Administration and Policy.

  jacknowi@american.edu

  (202) 885-2137

Kiho Kim Professor Academic Affairs, Office of

Kiho Kim (he/him) is a Professor in the Department of Environmental Science and is the Executive Director of the Center for Teaching, Research, & Learning at American University. His research focuses

  kiho@american.edu

  (202) 885-2181

Naomi Moland Professorial Lecturer SIS - School of International Service

Naomi A. Moland’s research and teaching focus on global media, international education, peace and conflict, LGBT rights, and the globalization of pluralist ideologies. Her recent book (based on her aw

  moland@american.edu

  (202) 885-6621

Taryn Morrissey Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Dr. Morrissey is an SPA Dean's Scholar Associate Professor. Her work centers on examining and improving public policies for vulnerable children. Ongoing research examines early care and education poli

  morrisse@american.edu

  (202) 885-6323

John Nolan Professor CAS - Math and Statistics

Prof. Nolan has taught at the University of Zambia (in Africa), and Kenyon College (in Ohio), and worked in a software company before coming to American University. His main research interests are in

  jpnolan@american.edu

  (202) 885-3140

Susan Shepler Associate Professor SIS - School of International Service

Prof. Shepler will be on sabbatical leave from American University 2020-2021 and will be a Visiting Fellow at the Kellogg Institute for International Studies at the University of Notre Dame. Susan Sh

  shepler@american.edu

Amanda Taylor Asst. VP of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Campus Life

Dr. Taylor's research and teaching focus on the intersection of culture, power, and education in domestic and international contexts. She earned her doctorate of education and her master's in educatio

  ataylor@american.edu

  (202) 885-3827