You are here: Full-Time Faculty

Alida Anderson Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Alida Anderson earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park. Research and teaching interests focus on contextual factors associated with language development and l

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Samantha Cohen Executive Director of EdD Program and Senior Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Samantha leads the School of Education's doctoral studies, and she is responsible for launching the inaugural, practitioner based program in education leadership and policy. Samantha teaches courses i

  cohen@american.edu

  (202) 885-8965

Amaarah DeCuir Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. DeCuir is an Education Leadership scholar whose work, broadly speaking, focuses on the intersections of leadership, gender, and diverse cultural contexts to advance social justice.

  adecuir@american.edu

  (202) 885-2124

Traci Dennis Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Traci Dennis joined AU in 2016 as a Term Faculty. Traci has a strong record of teaching and leadership experience in K-12 urban schools. Traci’s research focuses on issues of social justice in urb

  tdennis@american.edu

  (202) 885-8964

Olatokunbo Fashola Research Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Olatokunbo (Toks) Fashola is a Research Professor and the Faculty Coordinator for the Dual Enrollment Program at American University. Her current research interests include STEM among underreprese

  fashola@american.edu

  (202) 885-3716

Jermain Griffin Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jermain Griffin is a May 2017 PhD graduate from Colorado State University. Dr. Griffin has worked with the American Council on Education’s Center for Internationalization and Global Engagement (CI

  jermaing@american.edu

  (202) 885-6367

Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy Dean, School of Education SOE - School of Education

Dr. Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy joined AU in 2016 as Professor and Dean of the School of Education. Previous to this role, Dr. Holcomb-McCoy served as the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Vice Dean of Ac

  cholcomb@american.edu

Sarah Irvine Belson Interim Vice Provost for Research Provost, Office of the

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instruction with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with dis

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Reuben Jacobson Director of Education Policy and Leadership Program & Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Reuben Jacobson has worked at the intersection of education research, policy, and practice for nearly 20 years. He is committed to educational change and equity and has substantial experience desi

  reubenj@american.edu

  (202) 885-3786

Anne Karabell Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Annie Karabell joined the Institute for Innovation in Education at the School of Education in 2019. Her research interests include early childhood literacy, reading disabilities, and inclusive instruc

  karabell@american.edu

  (202) 885-8253

Adelaide Kelly-Massoud Adjunct Instructor SOE - School of Education

Adelaide Kelly-Massoud is the Director of the MA in Special Education: Learning Disabilities program. Adelaide received her undergraduate from the University of Connecticut. Soon after she received he

  adelaide@american.edu

  (202) 885-8254

Brian McGowan Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Brian L. McGowan is an Associate Professor of Education and Associate Director of the Center for Teaching, Research, and Learning at American University. Dr. McGowan earned his Ph.D. in higher edu

  bmcgowan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2809

Cynthia Miller-Idriss Professor of Education and Sociology SOE - School of Education

Dr. Cynthia Miller-Idriss is Professor of Education and Sociology at the American University in Washington, DC. Dr. Miller-Idriss' research follows two trajectories: the first focused on the aesthetic

  cynthia@american.edu

  (202) 885-3740

Laura Owen Director of Center for Postsecondary Readiness & Success SOE - School of Education

Dr. Laura Owen, Director, Center for Postsecondary Readiness and Success and Research Associate Professor at American University, focuses on evaluating the impact of interventions and programs designe

  owen@american.edu

Carolyn Parker Director of Masters in Teacher Program and Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Carolyn Parker is the Director of the Master of Arts in Teaching Program in the School of Education. She began her career as a science educator as a Peace Corps volunteer in Guatemala. Upon her return

  caparker@american.edu

  (202) 885-6259

Emily Grossnickle Peterson Assistant Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Emily Grossnickle Peterson is an Assistant Professor in the School of Education and an affiliate faculty member in the Psychology Department and the Behavior, Cognition, and Neuroscience PhD progr

  epeterso@american.edu

  (202) 885-3098

Robert Shand Assistant Professor SOE - School of Education

Robert D. Shand is Assistant Professor in the School of Education at American University. He received his Ph.D. in Economics and Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. A former high sch

  rshand@american.edu

  (202) 885-6917

Jason Snyder Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Jason Snyder’s teaching and research focuses on education law and education policy. He developed and served as Director of AU's Education Policy and Leadership (EPL) program from 2014-2018. Prior to j

  jtsnyder@american.edu

  (202) 885-6209

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University, and an affiliate faculty member in the Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her research,

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762

Vivian Vasquez Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Vivian Maria Vasquez is a Professor of Education at American University. She has worked in the field of education for over 30 years. Her research interests are in critical literacy, early literacy

  vvasque@american.edu

Stephen Vassallo Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

In his teaching and scholarship, Vassallo works to merge perspectives to critically explore issues related to teaching and learning, especially in the context of academic self-regulation. He draws fro

  vassallo@american.edu

  (202) 885-3048

Elizabeth A. Worden Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Elizabeth Anderson Worden is a comparative and international education scholar who examines how governments foster identities and belonging through education during social and political transition

  eaworden@american.edu

  (202) 885-3723