Alice Paul Award

The Alice Paul Awards are given each year to an American University faculty member, staff member, student, and alumni who demonstrate a commitment to continuing Alice Paul’s vision for women’s full equality. Alice Paul, an American University Washington College of Law alumna, was a leader in the suffrage movement. She authored the Equal Rights Amendment, served as president of the National Woman’s Party, and played a vital role in the passage of the 19th Amendment. We present these awards to members of the American University community who best exemplify Alice Paul's spirit, work, and vision.

2016 - 2017 Alice Paul Award Winners

Betsy Fisher Martin, Alumna Recipient
Liza Morris, Staff Recipient
Elisa Frost, Graduate Student Recipient
Hanna Tennies, Undergraduate Student Recipient



2016 Jane Palmer
2015 Jessica Waters
2014 Lucy Gettman
2013 Ann Timmons
2012 Elizabeth Sherman
2011 Connie Morella
2010 Lauren Weis
2009 Bette Dickerson
2008 Mary Garrard
2007 Norma Broude
2006 Eileen Findlay
2005 Barbara Palmer



2016 Amanda Sweet
2015 Samantha Guthrie
2014 Morgan Walton
2013 Jane Palmer
2012 Leah Gates
2011 Gail Baitinger
2009 Cori Racela
2008 Linda Mancillas
2007 Nicole Smolter
2006 Andrea Bilotto


2016 Cassandra Fowler
2015 Cassondra Jo Murphy
2014 Jacqlene Moran
2013 Emily Yu
2012 Kathleen McKenna
2011 Kathryn Baxter
2010 Nakeesha Ceran
2010 Mollie Garber
2009 Miriam Wood
2008 Nicole Woods
2007 Emily Caponetti
2005 Amrith Fernades-Prahbu


2016 Laura Cox Kaplan
2015 Gwen Graham
2014 Muriel Bowser
2013 Anita McBride
2012 Jan DuPlain
2011 Erin Fuller
2010 Jenny Burke
2009 Betsy Markey
2008 Jennifer Sarver
2007 Carolyn Jacobson
2006 Amy Dacey
2005 Jessica Waters


2016 Kayla Williams
2015 Paula Warrick
2014 Diane Hsiung
2013 Sarah Glassman
2011 Christy Anthony
2009 My-Lien Le
2008 Sara Bendoraitis
2007 Christine Gettings
2006 Katherine Haldeman
2005 Melva Jones