Jewish Studies Faculty

Boaz Atzili Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Boaz Atzili is the Director of the SIS Doctoral Program. He is a political scientist who researches and teaches international politics. His interest is in international security with an emphasis o

  atzili@american.edu

  (202) 885-1648

Michael Brenner Distinguished Historian in Residence and Director, Center for Israel Studies CAS - History

Michael Brenner is the Seymour and Lillian Abensohn Chair in Israel Studies and directs AU’s Center for Israel Studies. He received his PhD at Columbia University and taught previously at Indiana and

  mbrenner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2752

Max Paul Friedman Professor CAS - History

Max Paul Friedman specializes in 20th-century U.S. foreign relations. A graduate of Oberlin College and U.C. Berkeley, he was a Woodrow Wilson Postdoctoral Fellow and has taught at Boulder, Buenos Air

  friedman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2154

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Gregg Ivers Professor SPA - Government

Gregg Ivers is Professor of Government in the School of Public Affairs at American University. Professor Ivers is the author or editor of eight books, including To Build a Wall: American Jews and the

  ivers@american.edu

  (202) 885-2976

Caleen Jennings Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Caleen Sinnette Jennings is Professor of Theatre; since joining the faculty in 1989, she has directed for the main stage season and taught thirteen different courses in the theatre and general educati

  cjennin@american.edu

  (202) 885-3430

Alan Kraut University Professor CAS - History

Alan M. Kraut is University Professor of History and an affiliate faculty member of the School of International Service. He is also a Non-resident Fellow of the Migration Policy Institute. Currently,

  akraut@american.edu

  (202) 885-2410

Lisa Leff Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies CAS - History

Lisa Leff is a historian of 19th and 20th century Europe whose research focuses on Jews in France. Her first book, Sacred Bonds of Solidarity (Stanford UP, 2006), examines the rise of Jewish internati

  leff@american.edu

  (202) 885-6377

Allan Lichtman Distinguished Professor CAS - History

Allan J. Lichtman received his PhD from Harvard University in 1973 with a specialty in modern American history and quantitative methods. He became an Assistant Professor of History at American Univers

  lichtman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2411

Eric Lohr Professor and Susan E. Carmel Chair of Russian History and Culture CAS - History

Eric Lohr is Chair of the History Department and author of Russian Citizenship: From Empire to Soviet Union (Harvard University Press, 2012) and Nationalizing the Russian Empire: The Campaign Against

  elohr@american.edu

  (202) 885-2464

Gail Mardirosian Associate Professor Emerita

Gail Humphries Mardirosian focuses on the arts in the international arena and has been a Fulbright Senior Scholar to Prague, CZ and a Likhachev Fellow to St. Petersburg, Russia. She has also guest lec

  ghumphr@american.edu

  (202) 885-3880

Pamela Nadell Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History CAS - History

Pamela S. Nadell holds the Patrick Clendenen Chair in Women's and Gender History and is Director of the Jewish Studies Program. A specialist in American Jewish history and women’s history, she teaches

  pnadell@american.edu

  (202) 885-2425

Adjunct Faculty

 

Leila Berner Scholar in Residence

A Fulbright scholar, Rabbi Leila Gal Berner, PhD, has spent extensive time in Spain researching Jews during the Spanish Reconquista. Ordained at the Reconstructionist Rabbinical College, Rabbi Berner

  berner@american.edu

Lauren Strauss Scholar in Residence

Dr. Lauren B. Strauss is a professor of modern Jewish history, specializing in American Jewish cultural and political history. She has taught for twenty years at universities in the Washington, D.C. a

  strauss@american.edu

Emerita/us Faculty

Richard Breitman Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Richard Breitman received his B.A. from Yale University and his Ph.D. from Harvard University. He is author or co-author of ten books and many articles in German history, U.S. history, and the Holocau

  rbreit@american.edu

Myra Sklarew Professor Emerita

Myra Sklarew was educated at Tufts University and the Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University. She studied bacterial viruses and genetics at Cold Spring Harbor Biological Laboratory with Salvador

  msklarew@american.edu

Russell Stone Professor Emeritus

Russell A. Stone has research and teaching interests that include development, public opinion, social change, Middle Eastern and Third World societies, and environmental sociology. He has published on

  rstone@american.edu