Reuben Jacobson Director of Education Policy and Leadership Program & Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Dr. Reuben Jacobson has worked at the intersection of education research, policy, and practice for nearly 20 years. He is committed to educational change and equity and has substantial experience desi

  reubenj@american.edu

  (202) 885-3786

Education Policy and Leadership (EPL) Faculty

Samantha Cohen Executive Director of EdD Program and Senior Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Samantha leads the School of Education's doctoral studies, and she is responsible for launching the inaugural, practitioner based program in education leadership and policy. Samantha teaches courses i

  cohen@american.edu

  (202) 885-8965

Brian McGowan Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Brian L. McGowan is an Associate Professor of Education and Associate Director of the Center for Teaching, Research, and Learning at American University. Dr. McGowan earned his Ph.D. in higher edu

  bmcgowan@american.edu

  (202) 885-2809

Robert Shand Assistant Professor SOE - School of Education

Robert D. Shand is Assistant Professor in the School of Education at American University. He received his Ph.D. in Economics and Education from Teachers College, Columbia University. A former high sch

  rshand@american.edu

  (202) 885-6917

Jason Snyder Sr Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Jason Snyder’s teaching and research focuses on education law and education policy. He developed and served as Director of AU's Education Policy and Leadership (EPL) program from 2014-2018. Prior to j

  jtsnyder@american.edu

  (202) 885-6209

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor SOE - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University, and an affiliate faculty member in the Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her research,

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762

EPL Adjunct Faculty

Kaili Baucum Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOE - School of Education

Kaili Baucum teaches courses in the Education Policy and Leadership program. Kaili holds a PhD in Education Policy from Rutgers University-Newark. Her research examines programs designed for improving

  baucum@american.edu

  (202) 885-8965

Saba Bireda Adjunct Professor

Saba Bireda is a Partner in the Washington, DC office of Sanford Heisler Sharp, LLP, a national law firm with offices in Washington, DC, New York, California, Tennessee, and Maryland. Ms. Bireda join

  bireda@american.edu

Jennifer Green Adjunct Instructor

Jennifer Green is an Assistant Principal of Literacy for DC Public Schools. Prior to working as an administrator, she taught 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th grades in DCPS and served as a Reading Specialist. S

  jgreen@american.edu

Donna Hollingshead Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Donna Shimoda Hollingshead serves as the Associate Superintendent for School Administration in the Office of School Support and Improvement for Montgomery County Public Schools. Her previous professio

  dholling@american.edu

Cara Jackson Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Dr. Cara Jackson is an Associate Partner with Bellwether Education in the program evaluation group. She previously worked for Montgomery County Public Schools in the Office of Shared Accountability, e

  cjackson@american.edu

Amanda Miller Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Amanda Fuchs Miller has 25 years of advocacy, policy, research and communications experience in and outside of government. As President of Seventh Street Strategies, Amanda consults with non-profits t

  fuchsmil@american.edu

Lisette Partelow Adjunct Instructor

Lisette Partelow is the director of K-12 Strategic Initiatives at American Progress. Her previous experience includes teaching first grade in Washington, D.C., working as a senior legislative assistan

  partelow@american.edu

Susan Patrick Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Susan Kemper Patrick is a doctoral candidate and research assistant in the Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations at Vanderbilt University. She is pursuing a Ph.D. in Educational Leadersh

  patrick@american.edu

David Pinder Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Dr. Pinder currently serves as a High School Instructional Superintendent in DC public schools. With a focus on rigorous instruction and strong school climate, student achievement is on the rise. Unde

  pinder@american.edu

Eugene Pinkard Adjunct Instructor

Gene Pinkard has spent his career taking on leadership roles as a teacher, principal, district official, and nonprofit executive with a focus on creating new, rigorous, opportunities for students in u

  pinkard@american.edu

Simon Rodberg Adjunct Instructor

Simon Rodberg was the founding principal of DC International School, helping achieve the public charter board’s Tier 1 status each year, as well as complete International Baccalaureate authorization;

  rodberg@american.edu

Elizabeth Ross Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Elizabeth is currently the Managing Director, State Policy at the National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ), where she oversees state research and policy, and leads technical assistance to support st

  ekaross@american.edu

Elizabeth Ryan Adjunct Instructor

Liz Ryan has more than two decades of experience leading national advocacy initiatives to support children, youth & families. Liz currently serves as the President & CEO of the Youth First Initiative,

  lryan@american.edu

Michael Scott Adjunct Instructor

Michael Scott is an adjunct instructor of research methods in the EPL program at American University. He is also a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy at The Univers

  mscott@american.edu

Peter Weber Adjunct Instructor

Pete Weber is an independent consulting focusing on strategic planning and organizational development. His clients include school districts, charter schools, hospitals, and non-profit organizations. H

  weber@american.edu

Travis Wiebe Adjunct Instructor

Travis J. Wiebe is the principal of Wyngate Elementary School in Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS), the 14th largest school system in the country. Mr. Wiebe began his career as an elementary sch

  wiebe@american.edu

Conor Williams Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Conor P. Williams is a senior researcher in New America's Education Policy Program. His work addresses policies and practices related to educational equity, dual language learners, immigration, and sc

  cwilliam@american.edu