Anthropology Faculty and Staff

Orisanmi Burton Assistant Professor CAS - Anthropology

As a social anthropologist working in the United States, my research examines the imbrication of grassroots resistance and state repression. Within this broad area of inquiry, my present work explores

  oburton@american.edu

  (202) 885-6792

Arvenita Cherry Professorial Lecturer CAS - Anthropology

Arvenita Washington Cherry is a socio-cultural and educational anthropologist with expertise on the African Diaspora, race and ethnicity, and racism. Her research focuses on social constructions of bl

  awcherry@american.edu

  (202) 885-6342

C. Anne Claus Assistant Professor CAS - Anthropology

C. Anne Claus is Assistant Professor in the Anthropology Department. C. Anne Claus is a cultural anthropologist who researches environmental issues in contemporary Japan. Her academic work investigate

  claus@american.edu

  (202) 885-6797

Richard Dent Associate Professor CAS - Anthropology

Prof. Dent is the author of Chesapeake Prehistory: Old Traditions, New Directions and a significant number of other publications on the archaeology of the Chesapeake and Middle Atlantic regions. He ma

  potomac@american.edu

  (202) 885-1848

Manissa Maharawal Assistant Professor CAS - Anthropology

Manissa Maharawal's research focuses on the spatial and temporal dynamics of contemporary urban social movements in the United States, from Occupy Wall Street and anti-gentrification activism to Black

  manissam@american.edu

  (202) 885-6641

Adrienne Pine Associate Professor CAS - Anthropology

Adrienne Pine is a militant medical anthropologist who has worked in Honduras, Mexico, Korea, the United States, Egypt, and Cuba. In her book, Working Hard, Drinking Hard: On Violence and Survival in

  pine@american.edu

  (202) 885-1845

Kareem Rabie Assistant Professor CAS - Anthropology

Kareem Rabie is Assistant Professor of Anthropology at American University in Washington, DC. He studies privatization, urban development, and the state-building project in the West Bank. His first bo

  rabie@american.edu

Daniel Sayers Associate Professor and Department Chair, Anthropology CAS - Anthropology

In over two decades working in the field of Historical Archaeology, Dr. Sayers has covered a wide range of people, places, and social issues in his research. Dr. Sayers builds from a Marxist worldview

  sayers@american.edu

  (202) 885-1833

Gretchen Schafft Public Anthropologist in Residence CAS - Anthropology

The major foci of Gretchen Schafft’s career have been minority/majority interface, social justice, education and access to health care in the United States. In addition to her doctorate in anthropolog

  schafft@american.edu

  (202) 885-1830

Sue Taylor Public Anthropologist in Residence CAS - Anthropology

Taylor had extensive experience in nursing administration and clinical practice when she pursued a career in anthropology focusing on issues of health and gerontology. She directed a graduate program

  suet@american.edu

  (202) 885-6793

David Vine Professor CAS - Anthropology

I am the author of The United States of War: A Global History of America’s Endless Conflicts, from Columbus to the Islamic State (University of California Press, 2020), which is the third in a trilogy

  vine@american.edu

  (202) 885-2923

Rachel Watkins Associate Professor CAS - Anthropology

My research focuses on the biological and social history of African Americans living in the 19th and 20th century urban US. I began this journey studying the health consequences of poverty and inequal

  watkins@american.edu

  (202) 885-1663

Buck Woodard Professorial Lecturer CAS - Anthropology

Buck Woodard is a cultural anthropologist specializing in historical and applied research, with interests in ethnographic and ethnohistorical writing, and ethnological study of indigenous North Americ

  woodard@american.edu

  (202) 885-6798