Faculty

Molly O'Rourke

1:30

Molly O’Rourke is an Executive in Residence in the School of Communication where she also serves as director of the MA program in Political Communication. 

Faculty

Caty Borum Chattoo

1:37

Caty Borum Chattoo is Executive in Residence in the School of Communication and Director of the Center for Media & Social Impact. 

Dario Bernardini Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Dario Bernardini has taught courses in public relations, reputation management, and interpersonal communication at public and private universities. He has more than 20 years of experience creating and

  dariob@american.edu

Rajul Bhaskar Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Rajul Mistry Bhaskar is a Professorial Lecturer in the School of Communication. She has more than a decade of public relations experience in consumer, entertainment and corporate communications. As a

  bhaskar@american.edu

Caty Borum Chattoo Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Caty Borum Chattoo is Executive in Residence in the School of Communication and Director of the Center for Media & Social Impact. She is an award-winning communication strategist and documentary film/

  chattoo@american.edu

  (202) 885-6485

Priya Doshi Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Priya Lothe Doshi has 20 years of experience as a public relations practitioner creating and implementing strategic communications plans, conducting media relations, training spokespeople, and plannin

  doshi@american.edu

  (202) 885-2780

Kathy Fitzpatrick Professor SOC - School of Communication

Kathy R. Fitzpatrick is professor and former senior associate dean for academic affairs in the School of Communication. Prior to coming to American University, Fitzpatrick was professor and associa

  kfitzpat@american.edu

  (202) 885-2017

Joseph Graf Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Joseph Graf is an assistant professor of public communication. He is former research director for the Institute for Politics, Democracy and the Internet, which promoted Internet politics to improve ci

  graf@american.edu

  (202) 885-2147

Corinne Hoare Senior Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Corinne Hoare is a full-time professor of Public Communication. She has nearly a decade of high-level experience in the public relations and strategic communication fields in both the private and publ

  corinneh@american.edu

  (202) 885-6683

Pallavi Kumar Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Pallavi Damani Kumar is a full-time professor in American University’s School of Communication and the Division Director for the Public Communication. Prior to teaching full time, Kumar gained more th

  kumar@american.edu

  (202) 885-2047

Dina Martinez Senior Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Dina Martinez is a full-time professor of Public Communication. She joined the Public Communications Division in 2011 as professor and Director for the Professional Public Communication Graduate Progr

  dmartine@american.edu

  (202) 885-6464

Wendy Melillo Farrill Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Wendy Melillo is a full-time professor of Public Communication. She teaches in the School of Communication's Strategic Communication division. Her research is focused on public service advertising. Me

  melillo@american.edu

  (202) 885-1753

Ericka Menchen-Trevino Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Ericka Menchen-Trevino's research and teaching interests lie at the intersection of political communication and digital media studies, with a focus on methodology. Over the course of her career, Erick

  menchent@american.edu

  (202) 885-2065

Jason Mollica Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Jason Mollica is a seasoned strategic communication professional with 20 years of experience as a journalist, news producer and PR professional. Jason started his career as a journalist working for WC

  jmollica@american.edu

  (202) 885-6680

Molly O'Rourke Executive in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Molly O’Rourke is an Executive in Residence in the School of Communication where she also serves as director of the MA program in Political Communication. She has more than 15 years’ experience in th

  morourke@american.edu

  (202) 885-2968

Christie Parell Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Christie Parell is a full-time professor of Public Communication. She brings more than 15 years of experience working in the communications field at the highest levels of both the public and private s

  parell@american.edu

Gemma Puglisi Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Gemma Puglisi is a full-time professor of Public Communication. She is an award-winning media strategist and producer with more than 25 years of experience. During her career she has worked in broadca

  puglisi@american.edu

  (202) 885-2153

Lara Shane Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Lara Shane is an executive and strategist with 20 years of communication and management experience in both the public and private sector. She most recently served as Vice President for Research and C

  shane@american.edu

  (202) 885-6519

Richard Stack Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Richard Stack is a full-time professor of Public Communication. He began researching the interaction of courts and media after his work in the Public Defenders Office revealed the criminal justice sys

  rstack@american.edu

  (202) 885-2856

Leonard Steinhorn Professor SOC - School of Communication

Leonard Steinhorn is a professor of Communication and an affiliate professor of History. His expertise includes American politics, culture and media; the presidency and presidential elections; politic

  lsteinh@american.edu

  (202) 885-2031

Donald Tighe Lecturer in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Donald W. Tighe is a veteran of over twenty years of public diplomacy, public affairs, media relations, and strategic communications leadership in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors. Much of t

  donaldau@american.edu

Filippo Trevisan Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Filippo Trevisan joined American University's School of Communication in August 2015. After working as a reporter for Italy's largest private news agency in Rome, he completed his PhD and worked as a

  trevisan@american.edu

  (202) 885-6930

Paula Weissman Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Paula Weissman is a full-time professor of Public Communication and the Program Director for the School of Communication’s Online M.A. in Strategic Communication. Previously, she helped launch the M.P

  paulaw@american.edu

  (202) 885-6597

Rhonda Zaharna Professor SOC - School of Communication

Dr. R.S. (Rhonda) Zaharna is a full professor and Director of the Global Media program in the School of Communication, American University, Washington, D.C. Dr. Zaharna is a former Fulbright Senior S

  zaharna@american.edu

  (202) 885-3995