You are here: Ann. S. Ferren Curriculum Design Award

Ann Ferren Curriculum Design Award

The Ann Ferren Curriculum Design Award recognizes the collaborative work of two or more faculty who creatively enable students to integrate their learning over the course of their undergraduate experience. Such innovative facilitation could be manifested in a variety of ways, but a preference will be given to applicants who have collaborated to develop curricula that contribute to the integration of learning outcomes of the AU Core Curriculum into the design of an undergraduate major or majors. CTRL coordinates the award process. The $2,500 award is divided among the recipients.

We are now accepting applications for the 2018-2019 Ann S. Ferren Curriculum Design Award.


Application Process

The application window for AY19-20 opens in January 2020.

Applications are submitted online using the form at the link below. You will be asked to submit two attachments to the application:

  • A one-page executive summary of how the curriculum alignment and integration was accomplished
  • A document of up to four (4) double-spaced pages that includes:
    1. Summary of student learning outcomes that guided the curriculum alignment
    2. Specific examples of how courses incorporated and/or expanded upon AU Core Curriculum themes, concepts, and skills
    3. Information and examples of how the integration process was shared with both students and faculty
    4. Examples of such elements as assignments, readings, or exam questions used to assess learning outcomes that relate to alignment
    5. Summary of next steps to solidify or expand the alignment

Previous Award Winners

Erin Foreman-Murray (Department of Performing Arts, CAS) and Britta Peterson (Department of Performing Arts, CAS)

During the 2016-2017 academic year, Professors Erin Foreman-Murray and Britta Peterson designed a dynamic new dance curriculum, which—true to the liberal arts model—not only encourages, but holds transdisciplinary study at its core. This new dance curriculum is an innovative and unique program allowing students to approach creative practice and critical inquiry through the foundation of embodied knowledge—acquiring cognitive modalities through the body. The dance curriculum has been structurally and pedagogically designed to creatively enable students to integrate their dance studies within and beyond the university. The dexterous design of the dance curriculum responds to the dynamic nature of the moving world. Rather than educate students within a system that reflects the needs of the 20th-century job market, the new dance curriculum seeks to educate the 21st-century artist.

Angie Chuang (School of Communication) and Andrea Malkin Brenner (CAS, Sociology)

Andrea Brenner and Angie Chuang are the twin forces that have created AUx, The American University Experience, a two-semester course sequence designed to help students navigate their academic, social, cultural, and psychological transition to university life. The sequence enables students to become members of a diverse community of learners. AUx further guides students to think about issues of bias, discrimination and social identity from a multidisciplinary perspective. Under Andrea and Anglie’s skilled leadership, the AUx program continues in its pilot phase and by Fall 2018 will impact the education of every undergraduate entering AU. Thank you, Angie and Andrea, for your incredibly important work.

A team of faculty from the Kogod School of Business:
Professors William Bellows, Melissa Bradley, Richard Linowes, Jay Pope, Robert Sicina, and Tommy White

Collectively, they are recognized for their work with the Kogod Sustainable Entrepreneurship and Innovation Initiative, which was launched in 2014.This interdisciplinary initiative integrates a broad range of majors (not just in business) with the creative problem-solving skills of entrepreneurship. Courses in the program build on the broad spectrum of General Education goals, including strong communication skills, critical analysis skills, quantitative literacy and symbolic reasoning skills, and an awareness of new and different ways of thinking and understanding issues in our ever-changing world.

A team of faculty from the School of International Service:
Professors Rose Shinko, Patrick Jackson, and Betsy Cohn

A team of faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences in the Department of Environmental Science:
Professors Kiho Kim, Sara Lombardi, Jesse Meiller, and Stephen MacAvoy


CTRL is committed to providing services to all faculty & staff. Considering the inaccessibility of our location at Hurst Hall, we will coordinate the delivery of our services at an accessible location upon request. Request an accessible meeting via e-mail or call (202) 885-2117.

E-mail Us