Faculty & Staff

Jin Y. Park Professor and Department Chair, Philosophy & Religion CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Jin Y. Park is Professor and Department Chair of Philosophy and Religion at American University. She also served as Founding Director of Asian Studies Program from 2013-2020. Park's research areas inc

  jypark@american.edu

  (202) 885-2919

department of philosophy and religion faculty

Philosophy and Religion full-time faculty, September 2020 

Full-Time Faculty

Shatha Almutawa Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Shatha Almutawa is Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Religion at American University. Almutawa’s research interests are Islamic intellectual history, Islamic philosophy, postcolonialism, literary

  almutawa@american.edu

Cameron Bassiri Professorial Lecturer CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the community at AU in the fall of 2013. I am currently a Professorial Lecturer and have taught several courses that have focused on ethical theories and issues. I also help co-organize the D

  bassiri@american.edu

  (202) 885-8144

Kelso Cratsley Director of Graduate Studies (Philosophy & Religion) and Professorial Lecturer CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Kelso Cratsley is Director of Graduate Studies and Professorial Lecturer in the Department of Philosophy & Religion at American University. His research focuses on issues in bioethics, mental health e

  cratsley@american.edu

  (202) 885-2981

Joel Daniels Professorial Lecturer

I study religion from a global perspective through Asian religious thought, world Christianity, particularly Pentecostalism, and comparative religion, philosophy, and ethics. My current project examin

  Joeldan@american.edu

Farhang Erfani Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the AU community in 2005. My teaching and research are focused on democratic theory, globalization, exile, existentialism and aesthetics, particularly philosophy of film.

  erfani@american.edu

  (202) 885-2206

Ellen Feder Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2931

Asia Ferrin Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I am an Assistant Professor of Philosophy at American University. As a researcher, I work to present counternarratives to what Hilde Lindeman Nelson calls “master narratives.” Master narratives are co

  ferrin@american.edu

  (202) 885-2415

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Nabina Liebow Director of CAS Leadership Program and Professorial Lecturer CAS - Philosophy and Religion

On leave Fall 2019 Nabina works primarily in applied ethics, philosophy of race, social philosophy, feminist theory, and moral psychology. In addition, Nabina is passionate about making philosophy ac

  liebow@american.edu

  (202) 885-6383

Amy Oliver Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Professor Oliver's teaching and research on Latin America explore philosophical topics such as marginality, feminism, nepantlismo, and transfronterismo. She works on the Hispanic essay of ideas and La

  aoliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2140

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943

Shubha Pathak Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Shubha Pathak is a historian of religions who interprets myths from India, Greece, and Rome. In her research and teaching, she compares Greco-Roman and Indian epics in their original and later literar

  pathak@american.edu

  (202) 885-2957

Ian Rhoad Professorial Lecturer CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I am a Professorial Lecturer at American University, where I teach classes in the history of philosophy, ethics, and politics. In my philosophical research I work primarily in continental philosophy,

  ianr@american.edu

  (202) 885-2493

Lauren Weis Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the American University faculty in 2008, and have been teaching courses in the history of philosophy, metaphysics, ethics, gender studies, and feminist theory. My philosophical research focus

  weis@american.edu

  (202) 885-2926

Onaje Woodbine Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Dr. Woodbine’s research explores the varieties of black religious experience, especially as they are expressed on the margins of power and outside the bounds of established institutional authority. Hi

  woodbine@american.edu

  (202) 885-6733

Perry Zurn Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Perry Zurn is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at American University. He researches in political philosophy, gender theory, and applied ethics. Zurn is the author of Curiosity and Power: The Politic

  pzurn@american.edu

  (202) 885-2964

Adjunct Faculty

Rebecca Carr Scholar in Residence

Rebecca Carr is Scholar-in-Residence. She teaches courses in American philosophy, moral philosophy, and logic.

  carr@american.edu

Erik Cooke Adjunct Instructor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I'm an educator, proposal writer, and nonprofit strategist based in Washington, D.C. I lead government business development for Easterseals, initiating and supporting partnerships with federal, state,

  erik.cooke@american.edu

Chase de Saint-Felix Adjunct Instructor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Chase de Saint-Félix received his BA in Religion and Philosophy from Christian Brothers University, where he specialized in western religious theologies and gender theory. He then graduated from Ameri

  chasedsf@american.edu

  (202) 885-2925

Martina Ferrari Adjunct Instructor

Martina Ferrari is a doctoral candidate in philosophy at the University of Oregon specializing in 19th and 20th century continental philosophy (esp. phenomenology), feminist philosophy, and decolonial

  ferrari@american.edu

Joseph Harroff Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Joseph Harroff teaches philosophy and religion. His primary research interests are in the field of intercultural comparative philosophy, Chinese philosophy, American pragmatism, and methods of philoso

  jharroff@american.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Richard C. Sha Professor CAS - Literature

Professor Sha is the author of three books, the latest of which is Imagination and Science in Romanticism (Johns Hopkins, 2018). This book won the 2018 Jean-Pierre Barricelli Prize for the best book p

  rcsha@american.edu

  (202) 885-2928

Emeriti Faculty

Jeffrey Reiman Prof Emeritus

Please contact at jreiman@american.edu. Jeffrey Reiman is the William Fraser McDowell Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Social Policy. He was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1942. After receiving h

  jreiman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2925