Christopher Adams Adjunct Instructor

Chris Adams is director of training at the National Press Foundation, a Washington-based nonprofit that runs fellowships for working journalists. He joined the foundation in 2015 after 25 years as an

  adams@american.edu

Paul Albergo Adjunct Associate Professor

Paul Albergo is an adjunct professor of journalism. He is executive editor for Bloomberg BNA, a subsidiary of Bloomberg L.P., which provides professionals with a unique combination of news and authori

  paul.albergo@american.edu

Matt Glassman Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Matt Glassman (SOC '92) is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He serves as Assistant News Director for NBC4 News, NBC's owned station in Washington, DC. Matt joined News4 as an Assignment Editor in J

  matt.glassman@american.edu

Whitney Harris Adjunct Instructor

Whitney Harris is an adjunct professor of video journalism at American University. She’s an award-winning media professional with expertise shooting, writing, editing, reporting, and producing broadca

  wharris@american.edu

Douglas Hecox Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Doug Hecox is an adjunct professor of Journalism. From his work in Congress, the U.S. Departments of Justice, Transportation and the Treasury, and years of writing books, speeches, newspaper columns,

  doug.hecox@american.edu

Christine Lawrence Assistant Prof Emerita

Christine C. Lawrence is a full-time professor of Journalism. She brings her experience covering politics and government to the SOC journalism division having worked for 10 years as a senior editor an

Donald Markus Adjunct Instructor

Don Markus is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He has been teaching in the SOC for the past seven years. A sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun since 1985, Markus has taught Sports Journalism since 2

  markus@american.edu

Vandana Mathur Senior Adjunct Professorial Lecturer and Director of Writing Program

Vandana Mathur is an adjunct professor of Journalism. An alumni of American University's School of Communications, she has  been a journalist in the Washington, D.C., area for more than 20 years. She

  vmathur@american.edu

Mark McDonald Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Mark is the Broadcast Journalist in Residence in the School of Communication, where for seven years he has taught reporting, management and multi-media skills to undergraduates and graduate students.

  mmdonald@american.edu

Ashley Messenger Adjunct Assistant Professor

Ashley Messenger is an adjunct professor of Journalism. She teaches Legal Aspects of Communication. She is currently in-house counsel for NPR, specializing in issues that affect news gathering and dis

  ashleyg@american.edu

Gabriel Muller Adjunct Instructor

Gabriel Muller is an adjunct professor of journalism at American University. When he is not teaching, he works as a senior creative producer at Atlantic 57, the Atlantic's creative and consulting divi

  muller@american.edu

Steve Piacente Adjunct Associate Professor

Steve Piacente, an adjunct professor of Journalism, is a media and presentation trainer at The Communication Center in Washington, D.C., and the owner of Next Phase Life Coaching. Previously, he serve

  stevep@american.edu

Robert Roberts Adjunct Instructor

Rob Roberts is the Director of Digital Strategy for the U.S. Department of Energy. Prior to joining Energy, Rob worked in a number of digital roles throughout government, academia and journalism, incl

  robertr@american.edu

Cecilia Simon Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Cecilia Simon is an adjunct professor of Journalism. She has worked for magazines and newspapers for more than 20 years. She is a contributor to The New York Times Education Life section, and a former

  csimon@american.edu

Andrew Tran Adjunct Instructor

Andrew Ba Tran is an investigative data reporter for the Washington Post. He shared in winning the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting in 2018 for the coverage of candidate Roy Moore's alleged

  tran@american.edu

Kathleen Tremmel Adjunct Instructor

Kathy Tremmel began her educational journey later in life, getting her AA at Iowa Western Community College in 2003. She was the Public Relations Officer of Phi Theta Kappa and also on the USA Today A

  tremmel@american.edu

Brian Westley Adjunct Instructor

Brian Westley is an adjunct instructor at American University. He is also Counsel, Standards & Practices, at Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) where he provides pre-broadcast counseling and legal advi

  bwestley@american.edu

Christopher Young Assistant Director, Student Involvement Student Activities

Chris Young advises student media as a member of American University’s Student Activities staff. He also teaches media writing as an adjunct instructor in the School of Communication. Chris joined the

  cyoung@american.edu

Brett Zongker Adjunct Instructor

Brett Zongker is a professional communicator and journalist. In addition to teaching at AU, Zongker oversees communications on exhibitions and public programs at the Library of Congress. He has also m

  zongker@american.edu