Christopher Adams Adjunct Instructor

Chris Adams is director of training at the National Press Foundation, a Washington-based nonprofit that runs fellowships for working journalists. He joined the foundation in 2015 after 25 years as an

  adams@american.edu

Mary Ann Akers Adjunct Instructor

Mary Ann Akers is an adjunct professor of journalism with more than 25 years' worth of expertise as a print and broadcast reporter. She was a correspondent for The Washington Post and NPR, and a colum

  akers@american.edu

Paul Albergo Adjunct Associate Professor

Paul Albergo is an adjunct associate professor of journalism. He is executive editor for Bloomberg Industry Group, a subsidiary of Bloomberg L.P., which provides professionals with a unique combinatio

  paul.albergo@american.edu

Matt Glassman Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Matt Glassman (SOC '92) is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He serves as Assistant News Director for NBC4 News, NBC's owned station in Washington, DC. Matt joined News4 as an Assignment Editor in J

  matt.glassman@american.edu

Jennifer LaFleur Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Jennifer LaFleur joined AU in Fall 2017 as data journalist in residence and data editor for The Investigative Reporting Workshop. Previously, she was a senior editor at Reveal from The Center for Inve

  lafleur@american.edu

Christine Lawrence Assistant Prof Emerita

Christine C. Lawrence is a full-time professor of Journalism. She brings her experience covering politics and government to the SOC journalism division having worked for 10 years as a senior editor an

Donald Markus Adjunct Instructor

Don Markus is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He has been teaching in the SOC for the past seven years. A sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun since 1985, Markus has taught Sports Journalism since 2

  markus@american.edu

Elvina Nawaguna Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Elvina Nawaguna is an adjunct professor at American University’s School of Communication. She’s also the deputy editor for Business Insider’s Washington, D.C. bureau. She has also been an energy and

  nawaguna@american.edu

Fernando Pizarro Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Fernando Pizarro is a Supervising Editor at NPR's Morning Edition. He has been a long-time political reporter and an adjunct professorial lecturer at the School of Communications at American Universit

  fpizarro@american.edu

Dani Rizzo Adjunct Instructor

With a passion for purpose-driven communication and digital storytelling, Dani Rizzo currently serves as the digital director at the Humane Rescue Alliance, overseeing digital communication efforts, i

  drizzo@american.edu

Robert Roberts Adjunct Instructor

Rob Roberts is the Director of Digital Strategy for the U.S. Department of Energy. Prior to joining Energy, Rob worked in a number of digital roles throughout government, academia and journalism, incl

  robertr@american.edu

Cecilia Simon Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Cecilia Simon is an adjunct professor of Journalism. She has worked for magazines and newspapers for more than 20 years. She is a contributor to The New York Times Education Life section, and a former

  csimon@american.edu

Andrew Tran Adjunct Instructor

Andrew Ba Tran is an investigative data reporter for the Washington Post. He shared in winning the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting in 2018 for the coverage of candidate Roy Moore's alleged

  tran@american.edu

Brian Westley Adjunct Instructor

Brian Westley is an adjunct instructor at American University. He is also Senior Counsel, Standards & Practices, at Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). At PBS, Mr. Westley provides pre-broadcast couns

  bwestley@american.edu

Brett Zongker Adjunct Instructor

Brett Zongker is a communications and media strategist who spent more than a dozen years in journalism. In addition to teaching at AU, Zongker is chief of media relations at the Library of Congress. H

  zongker@american.edu