Christopher Adams Adjunct Instructor

Chris Adams is director of training at the National Press Foundation, a Washington-based nonprofit that runs fellowships for working journalists. He joined the foundation in 2015 after 25 years as an

  adams@american.edu

Mary Ann Akers Adjunct Instructor

Mary Ann Akers is an adjunct professor of journalism with more than 25 years' worth of expertise as a print and broadcast reporter. She was a correspondent for The Washington Post and NPR, and a colum

  akers@american.edu

Paul Albergo Adjunct Associate Professor

Paul Albergo is an adjunct associate professor of journalism. He is executive editor for Bloomberg Industry Group, a subsidiary of Bloomberg L.P., which provides professionals with a unique combinatio

  paul.albergo@american.edu

Richard Benedetto Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Richard Benedetto is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He is a retired White House correspondent and columnist for USA Today and political columnist for Gannett News Service. He began teaching at AU

  benedett@american.edu

Aras Coskuntuncel Adjunct Instructor

Aras Coskuntuncel completed his PhD at American University in communication in 2020, studying the struggle to control the flow of information in the digital era in the case of Turkey. His research exp

  arasct@american.edu

Donald Markus Adjunct Instructor

Don Markus is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He has been teaching in the SOC for the past seven years. A sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun since 1985, Markus has taught Sports Journalism since 2

  markus@american.edu

William Miller Adjunct Instructor

Bill Miller is an adjunct professor of journalism, teaching Communication Law. He has spent most of his career as a reporter and editor, working for more than 30 years at the (Cleveland) Plain Dealer,

  wmiller@american.edu

Elvina Nawaguna Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Elvina Nawaguna is an adjunct professor at American University’s School of Communication. She’s also the deputy editor for Business Insider’s Washington, D.C. bureau. She has also been an energy and

  nawaguna@american.edu

Fernando Pizarro Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Fernando Pizarro is a Washington political reporter and an adjunct professorial lecturer at the School of Communications at American University, where he teaches a course on immigration reporting.

  fpizarro@american.edu

Dani Rizzo Adjunct Instructor

With a passion for purpose-driven communication and digital storytelling, Dani Rizzo currently serves as the digital director at the Humane Rescue Alliance, overseeing digital communication efforts, i

  drizzo@american.edu

Robert Roberts Adjunct Instructor

Rob Roberts is the Director of Digital Strategy for the U.S. Department of Energy. Prior to joining Energy, Rob worked in a number of digital roles throughout government, academia and journalism, incl

  robertr@american.edu

Cecilia Simon Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Cecilia Simon is an adjunct professor of Journalism. She has worked for magazines and newspapers for more than 20 years. She is a contributor to The New York Times Education Life section, and a former

  csimon@american.edu

Andrew Tran Adjunct Instructor

Andrew Ba Tran is an investigative data reporter for the Washington Post. He shared in winning the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting in 2018 for the coverage of candidate Roy Moore's alleged

  tran@american.edu

Kathleen Tremmel Adjunct Instructor

Kathy Tremmel began her educational journey later in life, getting her AA at Iowa Western Community College in 2003. She was the Public Relations Officer of Phi Theta Kappa and also on the USA Today A

  tremmel@american.edu