Christopher Adams Adjunct Instructor

Chris Adams is director of training at the National Press Foundation, a Washington-based nonprofit that runs fellowships for working journalists. He joined the foundation in 2015 after 25 years as an

  adams@american.edu

Paul Albergo Adjunct Associate Professor

Paul Albergo is an adjunct professor of journalism. He is bureau chief for Bloomberg BNA, a subsidiary of Bloomberg L.P., which provides professionals with a unique combination of news and authoritati

  palberg@american.edu

Richard Benedetto Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Richard Benedetto is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He is a retired White House correspondent and columnist for USA Today and political columnist for Gannett News Service. He began teaching at AU

  benedett@american.edu

Matt Glassman Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Matt Glassman (SOC '92) is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He serves as Assistant News Director for NBC4 News, NBC's owned station in Washington, DC. Matt joined News4 as an Assignment Editor in J

  glassman@american.edu

Douglas Hecox Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Doug Hecox is an adjunct professor of Journalism. From his work in Congress, the U.S. Departments of Justice, Transportation and the Treasury, and years of writing books, speeches, newspaper columns,

  dhecox@american.edu

Gilbert Klein Senior Professorial Lecturer School of Prof & Extd Studies

Gil Klein is the director of the Journalism and New Media concentration. For 22 years he was a national correspondent for the Media General News Service, covering the White House, Congress, the Suprem

  gklein@american.edu

  (202) 895-4975

Donald Markus Adjunct Instructor

Don Markus is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He has been teaching in the SOC for the past seven years. A sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun since 1985, Markus has taught Sports Journalism since 2

  markus@american.edu

Vandana Mathur Sr Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Vandana Mathur is an adjunct professor of Journalism. An alumni of American University's School of Communications, she has  been a journalist in the Washington, D.C., area for more than 20 years. She

  vmathur@american.edu

Mark McDonald Adjunct Instructor SOC - School of Communication

Mark is the Broadcast Journalist in Residence in the School of Communication, where for seven years he has taught reporting, management and multi-media skills to undergraduates and graduate students.

  mmdonald@american.edu

Ashley Messenger Adjunct Assistant Professor

Ashley Messenger is an adjunct professor of Journalism. She teaches Legal Aspects of Communication. She is currently in-house counsel for NPR, specializing in issues that affect news gathering and dis

  ashleyg@american.edu

Robert Roberts Adjunct Instructor

Rob Roberts is the Director of Digital Strategy for the U.S. Department of Energy. Prior to joining Energy, Rob worked in a number of digital roles throughout government, academia and journalism, incl

  robertr@american.edu

Cecilia Simon Adjunct Instructor

Cecilia Simon is an adjunct professor of Journalism. She has worked for magazines and newspapers for more than 20 years. She is a contributor to The New York Times Education Life section, and a former

  csimon@american.edu

Tom Squitieri Adjunct Instructor

After 34 years as an awarded-winning journalist, Tom Squitieri joined the wider world of communications and turned his talents into capturing client ideas and crafting them into prose that is smart, c

  squitieri@american.edu

Kathleen Tremmel Adjunct Instructor

Kathy Tremmel began her educational journey later in life, getting her AA at Iowa Western Community College in 2003. She was the Public Relations Officer of Phi Theta Kappa and also on the USA Today A

  tremmel@american.edu

Corinna Zarek Adjunct Associate Professor

Cori Zarek is a part-time adjunct professor of Journalism. She teaches Communication Law for AU. She is an attorney specializing in First Amendment, open government, and technology policy. She joined

  zarek@american.edu

Brett Zongker Adjunct Instructor

Brett Zongker is a professional communicator and journalist. In addition to teaching at AU, Zongker oversees communications on exhibitions and public programs at the Library of Congress. He has also m

  zongker@american.edu