Christopher Adams Adjunct Instructor

Chris Adams is director of training at the National Press Foundation, a Washington-based nonprofit that runs fellowships for working journalists. He joined the foundation in 2015 after 25 years as an

  adams@american.edu

Mary Ann Akers Adjunct Instructor

Mary Ann Akers is an adjunct professor of journalism with more than 25 years' worth of expertise as a print and broadcast reporter. She was a correspondent for The Washington Post and NPR, and a colum

  akers@american.edu

Whitney Harris Adjunct Instructor

Whitney Harris is an adjunct professor of video journalism at American University. She’s an award-winning media professional with expertise shooting, writing, editing, reporting, and producing broadca

  wharris@american.edu

Iris Krasnow Assistant Prof Emerita

Areas of Expertise: Women's StudiesIris Krasnow is a full-time professor of Journalism. She was born and raised in Oak Park, Illinois. She became the fashion writer for the Dallas Times Herald, then m

Donald Markus Adjunct Instructor

Don Markus is an adjunct professor of Journalism. He has been teaching in the SOC for the past seven years. A sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun since 1985, Markus has taught Sports Journalism since 2

  markus@american.edu

Vandana Mathur Senior Adjunct Professorial Lecturer and Director of Writing Program

Vandana Mathur is a senior professorial lecturer and director of writing programs at AU. An alumni of American University's School of Communications, she has been a journalist in the Washington, D.C.

  vmathur@american.edu

William Miller Adjunct Instructor

Bill Miller is an adjunct professor of journalism, teaching Communication Law. He has spent most of his career as a reporter and editor, working for more than 30 years at the (Cleveland) Plain Dealer,

  wmiller@american.edu

Elvina Nawaguna Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Elvina Nawaguna is an adjunct professor at American University’s School of Communication. She’s also the deputy editor for Business Insider’s Washington, D.C. bureau. She has also been an energy and

  nawaguna@american.edu

Dani Rizzo Adjunct Instructor

With a passion for purpose-driven communication and digital storytelling, Dani Rizzo currently serves as the digital director at the Humane Rescue Alliance, overseeing digital communication efforts, i

  drizzo@american.edu

Cecilia Simon Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Cecilia Simon is an adjunct professor of Journalism. She has worked for magazines and newspapers for more than 20 years. She is a contributor to The New York Times Education Life section, and a former

  csimon@american.edu

Andrew Tran Adjunct Instructor

Andrew Ba Tran is an investigative data reporter for the Washington Post. He shared in winning the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting in 2018 for the coverage of candidate Roy Moore's alleged

  tran@american.edu

Brian Westley Adjunct Instructor

Brian Westley is an adjunct instructor at American University. He is also Senior Counsel, Standards & Practices, at Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). At PBS, Mr. Westley provides pre-broadcast couns

  bwestley@american.edu