Contact Us

Contact:
Duncan, Richard
Program Manager, University College

Anderson, Room 107

University College Program 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top

Last name starts with A

Joanne Allen Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Art

Joanne Allen is Professorial Lecturer of art history; she teaches General Education courses as well as more specialized courses on Medieval art, Renaissance art, and the history of architecture, with

  jmallen@american.edu

  (202) 885-6822

Last name starts with B

Arielle Bernstein Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Arielle Bernstein is a writer and cultural critic whose work has been published in The Atlantic, The Guardian, The AV Club, and The Rumpus, among other publications. Her research interests include cre

  arielle@american.edu

  (202) 885-3730

John Bracht Assistant Professor CAS - Biology

Bracht Lab Website Bracht Lab Research Interests: For an organism to survive, the genome, the complete set of DNA in a cell, must be stably maintained and correctly regulated. Given the central impor

  jbracht@american.edu

  (202) 885-2189

Last name starts with C

Ernesto Castaneda-Tinoco Assistant Professor CAS - Sociology

Ernesto Castañeda conducts research on migration, urban issues, health disparities, vulnerable populations, and social movements. He compares immigrant integration and ethnic political mobilization in

  (202) 885-2412

Alexander Cromwell Instructor SIS - School of International Service

Alexander Cromwell is an Instructor at the School of International Service. His research and teaching interests include peace education, youth and peacebuilding, leadership, program evaluation, interc

  cromwell@american.edu

  (202) 885-6650

Last name starts with D

Molly Dondero Assistant Professor CAS - Sociology

Molly Dondero is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Sociology. Her research focuses on how immigration, race/ethnicity, social class, and place contribute to population-level inequality in he

  dondero@american.edu

  (202) 885-1492

Laura Duval Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Psychology

Dr. Duval earned her bachelor's degree from Bowdoin College and her MS and PhD in Social Psychology from Tulane University. She arrived at American University in 2015. As the spouse of an active duty

  duval@american.edu

  (202) 885-1726

Last name starts with E

Chris Edelson Assistant Professor SPA - Government

Chris Edelson is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Government. His teaching and research interests focus on presidential national security power under the U.S. Constitution. His first book,

  edelson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6218

Heather Elms Associate Professor KSB - International Business

Heather Elms, Ph.D. is Associate Professor of International Business at the Kogod School of Business, American University, Washington, DC. She teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in critical th

  elms@american.edu

  (202) 885-1965

Noemi Enchautegui-de-Jesus Professorial Lecturer CAS - Psychology

Dr. Enchautegui-de-Jesus received her MA and PhD in Community Psychology from New York University. She was a postdoctoral fellow with the NIMH’s Family Research Consortium III at the University of Mic

  enchaute@american.edu

  (202) 885-1773

Last name starts with F

Jason Fabrikant Assistant Professor School of Prof and Extd Studies

Areas of Expertise: Criminal Justice, Constitutional Law, Legal Culture Jason Fabrikant is an Assistant Professor & Program Director of Undergraduate Programs in the School of Professional and Extende

  fabrikan@american.edu

  (202) 895-4907

Last name starts with H

Nathan Harshman Associate Professor and Department Chair, Physics CAS - Physics

Professor Harshman pursues research in theoretical physics, focusing his studies on the intersection of quantum information theory and particle physics. Entanglement is a fundamental resource for many

  harshman@american.edu

  (202) 885-3479

Last name starts with J

Robert Johnson Professor SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Professor Johnson's areas of expertise include the prison and other institutions of punishment and confinement, the death penalty, institutional violence, and race and justice in America. He has publi

  rjohnso@american.edu

  (202) 885-2951

Last name starts with K

Victoria Kiechel Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Victoria Kiechel, AIA and LEED AP O+M, ID+C, is a practicing architect and native Washingtonian. It’s no wonder that her courses in AU’s Global Environmental Politics Program always include a real-wor

  kiechel@american.edu

  (202) 885-6817

Katharine Kravetz Assistant Prof Emerita

Katharine Kravetz developed the Transforming Communities Semester, linking public policy to issues affecting communities, and other community-based courses. She previously taught Justice in the Washin

  kkravet@american.edu

Last name starts with M

Sarah Marsh Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Sarah Marsh is a scholar of medical humanities who joined AU's Department of Literature in 2015. Dr. Marsh holds an MFA in poetry from the University of Pittsburgh and an MA and PhD from UNC-Chapel Hi

  marsh@american.edu

  (202) 885-2984

Michael Mass Associate Professor KSB - Accounting

Professor Michael Mass teaches courses on Business Law and International Investment and Trade in AU’s Kogod School of Business. He earned a B.S. from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvan

  mmass@american.edu

  (202) 885-6195

Jeffrey Middents Associate Professor CAS - Literature

• Jeffrey Middents studies and teaches film and world literature at American University in Washington, DC, specifically focusing on Latin American narratives from the 1960s to the present. He received

  middents@american.edu

  (202) 885-2979

Last name starts with N

Mohamed Nimer Assistant Professor School of Prof and Extd Studies

Areas of Expertise: Quantitative Methods, International Development, Middle EastDr. Nimer teaches International Affairs and Intercultural Understanding at the School of Professional and Extended Studi

  nimer@american.edu

  (202) 895-4921

Last name starts with O

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  martyn.oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943

Last name starts with P

Andrea Pearson Associate Professor CAS - Art

Dr. Andrea Pearson specializes in the visual culture of late medieval and early modern northern Europe, with research interests pertaining to women, gender, and sexuality in the southern Low Countries

  pearson@american.edu

  (202) 885-3428

Last name starts with S

Kendra Salois Assistant Professor CAS - Performing Arts

Kendra Salois received the Ph.D. in Music from the University of California, Berkeley, in 2013. Prior to joining the Department of Performing Arts at AU, she was a Visiting Assistant Professor at the

  salois@american.edu

  (202) 885-3431

Renee Souris Professorial Lecturer SPA - Government

Renee Nicole Souris, Ph.D. received her doctorate in Justice, Law and Society with a second field in Political Theory from AU's School of Public Affairs in May 2014. Broadly speaking, her research exa

  souris@american.edu

  (202) 885-6550

Laurie Stepanek Professorial Lecturer CAS - Biology

Dr. Stepanek came to AU to teach and develop curriculum for the undergraduate Neuroscience major. She was previously an AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow at the National Science Foundation in th

  stepanek@american.edu

  (202) 885-6824

Last name starts with V

David Vine Professor CAS - Anthropology

Author of Base Nation: How U.S. Military Bases Abroad Harm America and the World (Metropolitan Books/Henry Holt, August 2015) and Island of Shame: The Secret History of the U.S. Military Base on Diego

  vine@american.edu

  (202) 885-2923

Last name starts with W

Stef Woods Professorial Lecturer CAS - Critical RGC Studies

Stef Woods is Faculty Director of AUx1 and teaches with the American Studies Program. She specializes in social media, American popular culture, sexuality, nonprofits, and activism. Stef has been

  swoods@american.edu

Last name starts with Z

Perry Zurn Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Perry Zurn is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at American University. He researches in political philosophy, gender theory, and applied ethics. Zurn is the author of The Politics of Curiosity (Unive

  pzurn@american.edu

  (202) 885-2964