Writing Studies Program Faculty

Cynthia Bair Van Dam Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Cindy Bair Van Dam is a compositionist who joined the Department of Literature faculty in 1995. In addition to teaching in the Writing Studies Program, Cindy is also the Chair of the AU Core Committee

  cbair@american.edu

  (202) 885-2983

Arielle Bernstein Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Arielle Bernstein is a writer and cultural critic whose work has been published in The Atlantic, The Guardian, The AV Club, and The Rumpus, among other publications. Her research interests include cre

  arielle@american.edu

  (202) 885-3730

Andrew Bertaina Adjunct Professorial Lecturer University Library

Andrew Bertaina is an adjunct faculty member in the Department of Literature. He graduated with his MFA in creative writing from American University. His creative work has appeared in many publication

  bertaina@american.edu

  (202) 885-6784

Maya Brown Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Maya grew up in Seattle, Washington and the Marshall Islands in the South Pacific. Technically a 7th generation Vermonter, she reluctantly moved to Vermont as a high schooler. Maya studied anthropolog

  mayab@american.edu

  (202) 885-2829

Danielle Bryant Adjunct Instructor CAS - Literature

Rae Bryant is the author of the short story collection, The Indefinite State of Imaginary Morals (Patasola Press). Her stories, essays, and poetry have appeared in print and online at The Paris Review

  db3765a@american.edu

  (202) 885-2938

Michael Cabot Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

A native of the State of New Mexico, Mike Cabot earned his MA from New Mexico State University in Las Cruces. Before coming to AU in 2011, Mike taught courses in college writing, literature, and techn

  cabot@american.edu

  (202) 885-6524

Amanda Choutka Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Amanda Choutka has a M.F.A. in Creative Writing from American University and a B.A. in English and Creative Writing from Dickinson College. She is working on a collection of nonfiction essays about fa

  choutka@american.edu

  (202) 885-3618

Edward Comstock Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Edward Comstock holds a PhD from American University's School of Education, Teaching, and Health, as well as an MA in Literature. At the intersection of rhetoric, writing studies, educational psycholo

  ecomst@american.edu

  (202) 885-2975

Charles Cox Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Chuck Cox joined AU’s faculty in 1998, as part of the Writing Studies Program, where he teaches the full range of first-year writing courses. His writing seminars typically use pop culture to explore

  ccox@american.edu

  (202) 885-2909

Angela Dadak International Student Coordinator CAS - Literature

In her position with American University's Writing Studies Program, Angela Dadak primarily works with international and multilingual students adjusting to US academic work and with the writing faculty

  adadak@american.edu

  (202) 885-2915

Lydia Fettig Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Lydia Morris Fettig spent her early life in coastal Connecticut and upstate New York before migrating west to Oregon to complete her undergraduate work in social science at Reed College and Portland S

  fettig@american.edu

  (202) 885-6347

Caimeen Garrett Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Caimeen Garrett has an MFA in Fiction from Syracuse University, and a PhD in Creative Writing from Florida State University. Her academic interests include crime writing, the Lindbergh kidnapping, epi

  cgarrett@american.edu

  (202) 885-3796

Neisha-Anne Green Director, Academic Student Services Writing Center CAS - Literature

Academic Interests: Social Justice Pedagogy, Writing Center Theory and Practice, Writing Center Tutor Education What began as volunteer work has blossomed into passion for Neisha-Anne. Outside of he

  ngreen@american.edu

  (202) 885-2392

Chelsea Horne Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Chelsea Leigh Horne writes fiction, poetry, and essays. Her stories have twice won the Andrew Bergman award in Creative Writing and her work has appeared in The Atlantic, The Rumpus, LitHub, The Pater

  horne@american.edu

  (202) 885-2825

Patrick Joyner Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Patrick Kelly Joyner began teaching at American University in 2000. His writing courses have thematic links to history, linguistics, psychology, and film. He has presented at the Conference on College

  pjoyner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2980

Kelsey Ann Kerr Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Kelsey Ann Kerr holds an M.F.A. in poetry from the University of Maryland. She earned her bachelor's in studio art and English - creative writing from Denison University. She has received scholarships

  kkerr@american.edu

Nancy Kidder Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Nancy Kidder is a graduate of Duke University and received her MFA in creative nonfiction from American University in Washington, DC, where she currently teaches writing. In Spring 2017, she taught tw

  nk3427a@american.edu

George Koors Adjunct Instructor University Library

George received his Masters in English from Truman State University in 2014 and his MLIS from The Catholic University of America in 2017. In 2015, he published his first novel Always the Wanderer. He

  gkoors@american.edu

  (202) 885-3241

Mary Markakis Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Mary Markakis earned a B.A. in Political Science and Philosophy from Syracuse University, an M.A. in Literature from George Mason University, and an MFA in Writing from George Mason University. She’s

  markakis@american.edu

Sarah Marsh Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Sarah Marsh is a scholar of medical humanities who joined AU's Department of Literature in 2015, and the Critical Race and Gender Studies Collaborative in 2019. Dr. Marsh holds an MFA in poetry from t

  marsh@american.edu

  (202) 885-2984

Jocelyn McCarthy Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Jocelyn McCarthy teaches in the Writing Studies Program, and writes fiction and nonfiction. She received her BA in English from Cornell University and her MFA in Creative Writing from American Univers

  mccarthy@american.edu

  (202) 885-8942

Glenn Moomau Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Glenn Moomau is the author of Ted Nugent Condominium: From Boston to Austin with the Glenmont Popes (AP Press, 2001). His fiction, essays, and reviews have appeared in storySouth, Memoir Journal, Art

  gmoomau@american.edu

  (202) 885-2924

Kristina Oakes Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Kristina Kasik Oakes earned her MA from Boston College and her BA from the University of New Hampshire. Prior to teaching at AU she taught high school English in Central Virginia and writing at Centra

  oakes@american.edu

  (202) 885-6364

Patricia Reichler Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Trisha Reichler joined the College Writing faculty in 2003. Her primary areas of interest are post-modernist literature and the writings of emerging, intersectional resistance movements.

  trisha.reichler@american.edu

  (202) 885-2910

Mary Switalski Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Mary Switalski began teaching at AU in 2007 while completing her MFA. She earned her BA in English Literature with a Creative Writing Subconcentration from the University of Michigan. She has also tau

  switalsk@american.edu

  (202) 885-3638

Adam Tamashasky Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Adam has been with the College Writing Program since 2004. He graduated from the University of Dayton in 1999 with a BA in English, then came to AU's MFA Program. His poetry recently appeared in The D

  adam.tamashasky@american.edu

  (202) 885-8933

Alison Thomas Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Alison Thomas earned a BA in English and Spanish from Cornell University. She completed her MFA in creative writing at American University and writes short fiction and non-fiction essays. She has taug

  athomas@american.edu

  (202) 885-8945

Sarah Trembath Professorial Lecturer CAS - Literature

Sarah Trembath is an editor, writer, and educator. She has been teaching college-level composition since 2008 and joined the AU faculty in 2014. As an editor, she has produced many scholarly books and

  trembath@american.edu

  (202) 885-1456

Katherine Wilson Associate Chair, Literature CAS - Literature

Kate Wilson double-majored in music and English at Stanford University and holds an MA in Medieval Studies and PhD in English from The Catholic University of America. Her research interests include me

  kwilson@american.edu

  (202) 885-3917

Lacey Wootton Director, Writing Studies Program CAS - Literature

Lacey Wootton completed her MA in Literature at AU in 1999 and has taught in the Writing Studies Program since then. Prior to her time at AU, she earned a BA in English from U.C. Berkeley, worked in p

  lwoott@american.edu

  (202) 885-2982

Melissa Young Associate Professor CAS - Literature

Melissa Scholes Young is the author of the novel Flood, winner of the Literary Fiction Category for the 2017 Best Book Award. Her writing has appeared in the Atlantic, Washington Post, Huffington Post

  msyoung@american.edu

  (202) 885-6523