Key Faculty

Last name starts with A

Marilee Adams Adjunct Professor

Marilee Adams, Ph.D., is an author, executive coach, facilitator, and professional speaker. She is president and founder of the Inquiry Institute, a consulting, coaching, and educational organization

  madams@american.edu

Last name starts with B

Ilona Birenbaum Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Ms. Birenbaum is a leadership and organizational consultant/leadership coach with over 20 years of experience and a diverse organizational development background. She is an adjunct professor and coach

  birenbau@american.edu

Last name starts with C

Clarence Crawford Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Clarence Crawford is founder and president of the Teach ‘em to Fish. The God-given value proposition for the ministry is to establish a business incubator that helps deserving people get a fresh start

  crawford@american.edu

  (202) 885-2357

Last name starts with D

Jeri Darling Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Jeri Darling is President of Darling Global, LLC and has more than 25 years of experience working with diverse organizations in the areas of strategy, leadership, and organizational effectiveness. She

  darling@american.edu

Robert Durant Professor Emeritus

Professor Durant resides in Atlanta, Georgia and is a founding partner of Emeritus Associates, LLC. His teaching and research focus were focused on executive branch politics, public management, policy

  durant@american.edu

Last name starts with E

James Eisenmann Adjunct Instructor

James M. Eisenmann has been the Executive Director of the U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board since January 2, 2013. Mr. Eisenmann served as MSPB’s General Counsel from January 4, 2010, until January

  eisenman@american.edu

Karen Ellis Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Karen L. Ellis retired in December 2014 as the Assistant Inspector General for Investigations (AIG/I) with the Office of Inspector General (OIG) at the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

  kellis@american.edu

Last name starts with F

Catherine Fox Adjunct Instructor

Catherine Fox is Founder and Principal of an international consulting and coaching practice CJFox Associates to support organizations and their leaders in implementing change. She is consultant to US

  cfox@american.edu

Last name starts with G

Edward Girovasi Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Ed Girovasi is a Senior Consultant with the Acquisition and Product Support Group of LMI in Tysons, VA. LMI is a not-for-profit strategic consulting firm dedicated to improving the management of gove

  girovasi@american.edu

Last name starts with H

Bethany Hardy Adjunct Instructor

Bethany Young Hardy has nearly 20 years of experience in strategic communications across sectors. She currently serves as vice president at C.Fox Communications, where she leverages her extensive exp

  bhardy@american.edu

Last name starts with I

Angelo Ioffreda Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Angelo Ioffreda is the chief engagement officer and founder of io spark communications, a strategic communication and management consultancy based in Arlington, VA, whose purpose is to help individual

  ioffreda@american.edu

Janet Ioli Sr Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SPA - School of Public Affairs

Janet is an executive coach, leadership and organizational development consultant, and an engaging speaker and workshop leader. Her experience helping people become better leaders and navigate through

  ioli@american.edu

Last name starts with J

Susan Jenkins Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Susan Jenkins currently works as a social science analyst with the US Department of Health and Human Services. She oversees several large scale evaluation contracts and helps to build staff evaluation

  sjenkins@american.edu

Patricia Jensen Adjunct Instructor

Patricia K. (Patty) Jensen is Managing Principal of Clear Waters Consulting, LLC. She is a dynamic results-focused coach, consultant and business leader who partners with leaders to facilitate cultura

  pjensen@american.edu

Kenneth Jones Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Ken Jones is a healthcare executive for the US Army. He works full time as a professor at a military medical school where he teaches: statistics, information systems, marketing and strategy. He holds

  kjones@american.edu

Last name starts with K

Joseph Kaplan Adjunct Instructor

JOSEPH V. KAPLAN, a founding principal of Passman & Kaplan, P.C., received his BA from Penn State University in 1975, and his JD in 1978 from Gonzaga University. In 1979, Mr. Kaplan received his LL.M.

  jkaplan@american.edu

Willard Kayser Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Cliff brings 20 years of experience in organization development, leadership coaching, and training. In addition to KEY, he is a faculty member in American University’s Masters in Organization Developm

  wkayser@american.edu

Linda Kimsey Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Linda G. Kimsey is an Assistant Professor in the Preventive Medicine and Biometrics Department at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USUHS) where she serves as Acting Director o

  kimsey@american.edu

Nancy Kingsbury Adjunct Professor

In October 2000, Dr. Kingsbury assumed the newly created position of Managing Director for Applied Research and Methods at the Government Accountability Office (formerly General Accounting Office), wh

  nkingsb@american.edu

Theodore Kniker Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Ted Kniker is an internationally recognized expert and thought leader in organizational performance improvement, with extensive executive leadership roles in the public and commercial sectors. His w

  kniker@american.edu

Christopher Koepke Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Chris Koepke, Ph.D. is the Director of the Strategic Marketing Group at the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). He is responsible for all Medicare and Health Insurance Marketplace communic

  koepke@american.edu

Last name starts with L

Robert Lapidus Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Bob Lapidus has worked as a consultant in organization development and human resource management for the past 30 years. As a senior consultant to key managers and Chief Executive Officers, he has impl

  lapidus@american.edu

Last name starts with M

Patrick Malone Executive in Residence SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Malone is an Executive-in-Residence in the Department of Public Administration and Policy where he teaches courses in public sector leadership, executive problem solving, organizational anal

  pmalone@american.edu

  (202) 885-6271

Robert Marshak Executive in Residence Emeritus

Dr. Marshak has taught organization dynamics and change leadership in SPA since 1977. His areas of expertise include: organizational change and development, dialogic organization development, organiza

Mark Maxin Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Mark Maxin has over 30 years’ experience in federal sector employment law addressing critical issues involving equal employment opportunity, diversity, civil rights, bargaining and grievance rights, p

  maxin@american.edu

Matt Minahan Adjunct Associate Professor Public Admin SPA

Matt Minahan, Ed. D., is President of MM & Associates, an international consulting firm specializing in strategy, structure, leadership development, and communications. Matt's clients are in the pri

  minahan@american.edu

Last name starts with P

William Paxton Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

William Paxton is a leading expert on ethics and the law. He counsels government officials, corporations, and their leaders on a wide range of issues including bet-the-organization ethical dilemmas, c

  paxton@american.edu

David Pekoske Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SPA - Key Leadership Program

David Pekoske is Group President of the National Security Group of A-T Solutions, Inc. Prior to joining A-T Solutions in 2010, he was the Vice Commandant of the U. S. Coast Guard. In this key leadersh

  pekoske@american.edu

Meredith Persily Lamel Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SPA - Key Leadership Program

Meredith Persily Lamel, MBA, P.C.C., is CEO of Aspire@Work. For 15 years, she has explored the frontiers of aspirational leadership, human behavior, and organizational development. As an executive c

  persily@american.edu

  (202) 885-6388

Last name starts with R

Andrew Rahaman Executive in Residence SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Dr. Rahaman has over 25 years working nationally and internationally in diverse leadership positions building teams to design and implement both technical projects and overseeing geographically disper

  rahaman@american.edu

David Rosenbloom Distinguished Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Distinguished Professor of Public Administration, Rosenbloom specializes in constitutional-administrative law, administrative theory, history, reform, and personnel management. A major contributor to

  rbloom@american.edu

  (202) 885-2361

Last name starts with S

Alioune Samb Executive in Residence

Pape Samb is President of Exeleadmen, a consulting firm that focuses on providing leaders and entrepreneurs with the knowledge, tools and network to create economic value. With over 17 years of experi

  as0210a@american.edu

Roger Schwarz Adjunct Professor

Roger Schwarz, Adjunct Professor Roger Schwarz has been teaching leaders and consulting to organizations since 1980. His area of expertise is leadership and teams. His writing, speaking, and consultin

Carl Shapiro Adjunct Professor

Carl Shapiro has been an economist with the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) for over 25 years. Currently, Dr. Shapiro is the Science Impact Program Coordinator. The Science Impact Program is a focused e

  cshapiro@american.edu

Neil Stroul Sr Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professionally, Neil is first and foremost a leadership coach. Trained originally as a psychologist, Neil blends more than 25 years of experience in organizational consulting and the perspective of ap

  stroul@american.edu

Gwendolyn Sykes Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Gwendolyn Sykes is the United States Secret Service Chief Financial Officer. In this role, she is responsible for the execution, development and stewardship of the Secret Service’s resources and curre

  sykes@american.edu

Last name starts with T

Jane Tamagna Adjunct Professor

Jane Tamagna is a business consultant with 20 years experience consulting for the private, public, non-profit, and academic sectors.  She focuses her work on two outcomes:  Helping leaders solve chron

  tamagna@american.edu

Robert Tobias Distinguished Practitioner in Residence SPA - Key Leadership Program

Robert Tobias teaches courses in public sector leadership in the Key Executive Leadership Programs. He also teaches facilitation and team development, conflict management and alternative dispute resol

  rtobias@american.edu

  (202) 885-6271

Last name starts with V

William Valdez Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Bill Valdez retired from Federal service as a career Senior Executive in July 2014 and is now a Senior Vice President at an international consulting firm that specializes in energy, environment and sc

  valdez@american.edu

Last name starts with W

Scott Ward Adjunct Instructor

Scott Ward is an adjunct professor of Public Communication. He has more than 20 years of professional experience in all aspects of communications, including advocacy communications; new media; social

  ward@american.edu

Reginald Wells Sr Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SPA - School of Public Affairs

Reginald F. Wells was named Deputy Commissioner of the Social Security Administration’s (SSA) Office of Human Resources effective July 15, 2002 after serving short tenures as Deputy Associate Commissi

  wells@american.edu

Carol Willett Adjunct Instructor

After thirty-five years of Federal Service in the USAF, Central Intelligence Agency, White House and Government Accountability Office (fifteen of which were spent in Senior Executive Service positions

Patricia Williams Adjunct Professor

Patricia Day Williams transitioned from practicing family medicine to consulting in organization development (OD) 25 years ago. She maintains a broad-based OD practice that includes team building, div

  pwilli@american.edu

Brian Williams Adjunct Assistant Professor

Brian Williams, Ed.D. is a senior training specialist and the owner of Awzom Technology & Management. He is an Organizational Development Professional, Executive Coach, Professional Speaker, Author, T

  williams@american.edu

Last name starts with Z

Ruth Zaplin Executive in Residence SPA - Key Leadership Program

Dr. Ruth Zaplin is an Executive-in-Residence, School of Public Affairs, Department of Public Administration & Policy and Director of International Programs, Key Executive Leadership Programs at Americ

  zaplin@american.edu

Donald Zauderer Associate Professor Emeritus

Dr. Donald G. Zauderer is Professor Emeritus of Public Administration at American University, where he directed the Key Executive Program for emerging leaders in public service. Upon retiring from Ame

  zauderer@comcast.net